Graphic Artist (Male, Age 24) in Overland Park, KS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Graphic Artist in Overland Park, KS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGraphic Artist
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOverland Park, KS
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for KC Silkscreen, a silkscreening company that creates new designs as well as designs for bands, fundraisers, company events, etc…

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for ordering and overseeing the wholesale shirts and other clothes we use directly from the manufacturuer. I also work in the creation of designs as well as the actual silkscreening process

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Not necessarily, occasionally I work with others. I neither like or dislike it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amI arrive at work and begin to scroll down the client list and see what unfinished work we have to do for today.
10am to 11amAfter bringing up the client graphics I finish modifying them (photoshop)
11am to 12pmI finish getting all the graphics created and begin to send them to the printer
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pmAfter all the client graphics/text are finished printing I take them to get “burned” onto the actual screen
2pm to 3pmOnce everything is set up and finished drying, the images are finally ready to silkscreen, I set up all the necessary items (in this case, t-shirts) and set the machine (calibrate it, align the image correctly) and begin the silkscreening process
3pm to 4pmAfter the shirts are silkscreened they must be heat-treated in order for the image to stay preserved and be durable (through machine washing, etc).
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend’s father was investing money

What was the application process?
Simply talking to my friend

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Not really, I knew the owners

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, very much so. The “training” was done by myself and very easy.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Some. I’d been experieneced with silkscreening, but there were new machines I had to train myself to use.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, anyone could do this job as long as they had an interest in it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I never had a real “internship”, I just did silkscreening as a hobby.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get an internship, ask around at local Silkscreeners. An interest and passion for arts and printmaking/silkscreening. College not necessary.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It really depends. I don’t interact with customers very often, but when I do I need to use social skills in order to make a sale and make everyone feel comfortable about our work.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Not necessarily.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get a second job, the hours vary wildly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not really, eventually I need to get out of this job and focus on my future.

What are your current career goals?
Perhaps Film school, eventually I want to work in the film industry.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
The work and the process are very rewarding, I love what I do, I just wish I could live more comfortably off it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Cashier4 Months8.50/hrStandard high school job, cashier at a Dairy Queen. I cleaned, served and made ice cream, and rang people up.
Prior Job 2Cashier/Clerk9 months7/hrCashier at a grocery chain. Dealing with customers, cashiering duties, etc…

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3Kansas CIty Art InstituteBFA Digital Arts
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.