Vet Tech (Female, Age 31) in Columbia, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Vet Tech in Columbia, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleVet Tech
Salary$25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week38
Company Size(not answered)
LocationColumbia, TN
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a local vet office that employs about 16 people. We are a large animal as well as small animal clinic

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I take blood, do hematology studies, assist the vet,run fecal samples and general client relations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I have to work with people everyday. It can be extremely challenging but for the most part is wonderful. Some people expect you to drop everything and wait on them hand and foot, while others are understanding about delays. We have weeks at a time where we deal with great clients then bam have a string of mean people to deal with, but that is what you get with the public I expect

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI begin treatments of all the in hospital animals. This includes cleaning cages and feeding all animals as well as giving them any medicines they may need. After we are done with this we give baths to any animal that needs one. We also walk the dogs that are able to go for one.
8am to 9amAfter treatments are done we stock all medicines, supplies in all the rooms, surgical suite, and begin to either prepare for incoming surguries or prepare to see clients depending on the day
9am to 10amAssist the doctor either with surgry or see clients. We then welcome the clint and animal weighing it and running what test the doctor orders. If it is a surgury day the we assist the doctor by handing him instruments as needed. We also prep the patients for surgury
10am to 11amsame as above
11am to 12pmsame as above
12pm to 1pmLunch Break
1pm to 2pmsame as earlier
2pm to 3pmsame as earlier
3pm to 4pmsame as earlier
4pm to 5pmBegin evening treatments, re walk all dogs clean all exam rooms. Once this is done we make phone calls to clients about next day appointments
5pm to 6pmday is done at 5
6pm to 7pmna
7pm to 8pmna
8pm to 9pmna
9pm to 10pmna
10pm to 11pmna
11pm to 12amna

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was asked to submit a resume

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I interviewed for the job two weeks after I applied. I interviewed with the practice owner and that was it.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked when I was available to work, about my living conditions, About my family, about my skills and likes in veterinary medicine.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I think following them around and observing what they do helped me alot

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I followed another Technician around for a week to get a better feel for the practices activites.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do all the skills I learned in school are so valuable to me because I use them all the time

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recomend that they go to college and get a degree and further this profession

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good social skills, work under pressure, good people skills, and have a sense of humor

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes an AAS degree at least

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Find a job you like and people you can get on with well

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes This is what I went to school for and what I have always wanted to do.

What are your current career goals?
I wish to remain at my current job until I retire

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it for the most part it is very rewarding

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cook2 years4.25Flipped burgers and prepared fast food
Prior Job 2N/A

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2columbia stateAAS in veterinary technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.