Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 35) from Philadelphia, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Philadelphia, PA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Philadelphia, PA
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a company that has around 65 empolyees at the moment and growing larger. It is an architecture firm that mainly does malls, stores, schools and some houses.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am the front desk receptionist. I answer the phone and greet clients and anyone else coming into the office. I am also an administrator and handle daily things such as filing, writing letters, putting together charts, contact lists, ordering office supplies and maintaining equipment in the office

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under compensated for the area and similar positions

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I am not at work at this tim
8am to 9am I am not at work at this time
9am to 10am I arrived at work at 9:30 AM. After settling in at my desk I handled all the packages that come in overnight.
10am to 11am I processed submittals and distributed to the correct person. (submittals are things such as samples and shop drawings, technical details for a particular project that must be approved either by an architect, engineer etc before fabrication of a building/store etc. I log them in an excel spreadsheet to keep track of the job’s progress.)
11am to 12pm Answered the phones and updated a contact list for a project using excell.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Distributed the mail in the proper bins and notified the office of it’s arrival.
2pm to 3pm Greeted potential new employee that came in for an interview.
3pm to 4pm Did the filing for the day.
4pm to 5pm Chatted with people at work about an upcoming office outting. Prepared the UPS end of day report
5pm to 6pm Cleaned up my desk area and went home.All during this day I was answering the phone and dealing with messangers that come into the office at all times of the day.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.