Electrical Technician (Male, Age 24) in Murfreesboro, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Electrical Technician in Murfreesboro, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleElectrical Technician
Salary$20,800
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMurfreesboro, TN
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
consumer depot/ubid.com – national company with distribution centers in several states – we buy closeout or returned electronics and repair/refurbish them to a sellable state.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Critically analyze electronics – diagnose what is wrong – fix them, clean them, flash drivers, etc

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i feel very uncompensated, but i enjoy what i do

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes – I enjoy working with the team of electrical techs. we can work at our own pace and get the job done right.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 7
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amdrive to work, clock in @ 7:30. walk to my workstation and begin working on the electronics.
8am to 9amWork at my workstation on different mp3 players, testing for battery integrity and if the screen in operational.
9am to 10am15 minute break @ 9am. come back from break and plug in the working players, because they need a full battery to flash the bios of the board with the latest one. Start working on PSPs or Nintendo DS players.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm30 minute Lunch at 11:30. eat the lunch i brought and then talk to my wife on the phone for a little while.
12pm to 1pmGo back to work on the mp3 players now they are charged. Flash the bios on the boards with SD cards or hardwire to computer to format via mini-usb.
1pm to 2pmContinue work on the boxes of players I picked to work on that day. It usually takes a long time to flash and format 30-50 players, as you can imagine.
2pm to 3pm15 minute break at 2pm. Come back and put the refurbished players in their retain packages and then send them on to inventory. This will take about an hour.
3pm to 4pmLog all the work i did on a progress sheet, then finish up and clock out @ 3:30. Drive back to my apartment.
4pm to 5pmdrive back to my apartment and pick up food or groceries if i need them. Arrive at home and start to cook dinner. Watch the news on TV. Eat Dinner when it is done. Wash dishes and put them away.
5pm to 6pmlounge and eat dessert while watching the rest of the news on television. Turn off tv and put on a record and read a magazine or a book.
6pm to 7pmfinish the chapter in the book then turn off the music and put up the record. walk down to the courtyard for a cigar with my flatmates.
7pm to 8pmhang out in the courtyard.
8pm to 9pmcome back from the courtyard and make my lunch for tomorrow. pick up any dirty things from the floor.
9pm to 10pmWash my face, take contacts out, brush teeth, turn off radio and overhead light and go to sleep.
10pm to 11pmSleep
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
craigslist

What was the application process?
Submitted electronic resume, went in for a face-to-face interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, head of the company interviewed me and talked to me to get a feel of what i was like, then walked me around the warehouse

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what qualifies you for the job? why should we hire you?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
they just said “there are the electronics. start sorting them and working on them.”

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Basically they had methods of sorting and processing different goods (mp3 players, etc) so i learned those

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. Mechanical Engineer with electronics experience.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes. Interned with Teledyne

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take technical training classes or get a degree in electrical engineering.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Be able to communicate with likeminded individuals as well as superiors – have a working knowledge of electronics – be efficient and honest – don’t steal from work – be on time

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
work ethic is more important than education, but you need a good technical knowledge

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard so that the company would be at a disadvantage to lose you. you make yourself valuable by doing tons of work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i will move up once i get a few years under my belt.

What are your current career goals?
I want to work in consulting after working in management for 10 years

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it is what i am passionate about but it isn’t for everyone.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern1 year$10/hrQuality Assurance Technician
Prior Job 2Bag Boy2 years$6/hrBagboy at local grocery store in college.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.79

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3TTUMech Engineer
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.