Customer Service (Male, Age 20) in Gainesville, FL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 20 who works as a Customer Service in Gainesville, FL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service
Salary$18,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGainesville, FL
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a communications company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do customer service for a communications company.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I’m under compsensated for the stress I deal with daily.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with a large group of people and that’s ok with me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. It’s not bad. I get tired of some of the people yacking loudly on their phones or playing on the computers and annoying the people that do all the work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrived at work around 8:55. I waited in the lounge area until it was time for work.
8am to 9amStarted work at 9:00.
9am to 10amI took customer calls. All of the calls were routine and nothing out of the ordinary.
10am to 11amI continued to take customer calls. We got quite busy at this time and I felt a little stressed. The customers get cranky when they have to wait on hold for a long time. I don’t blame them, but they take it out on us.
11am to 12pmI continued to take cusomter calls. The call load was still very heavy. Most of the customers were polite. I continue to assist with problems, set appts. or refer them to the proper department.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmI again started taking calls. One lady was very upset and I worked extra long to help her with her problem. I think we got it worked out to her satisfaction. I started to watch the clock and wish it’s was quitting time.
2pm to 3pmI was asked to help proofread a new customer service manual. I did that for an hour. It broke up the day and helped alleviate stress and boredom from the calls.
3pm to 4pmI went back to taking calls as we got quite busy again. Most of the calls were routine and nothing special or different.
4pm to 5pmI left at 4.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a very brief individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What was my job history.

What was my school history.

Who were my references.

What were my life goals.

How would I react to troublesome customer calls.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because they told us how handle just about every kind of call.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, they gave us a brief training on customer service. They gave us training notebooks and had us do mock calls. We did practice calls.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Other than knowing how to read, write and speak..not really.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
If someone wants a job like mine, they should go to the company and fill out an application. They will call you back if you qualify and they have an opening. I would tell someone to dress nicely and decently, take your resume along and be polite. It is a customer service job, so they are looking for someone with an even temper, nice speaking voice and good personality.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It requires good customer service and computer skills. You have to have an even temper.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
basically a high school education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Do you work, mind your own business, don’t get caught up in office gossip. Stay away from troublemakers and nosey people. Don’t lose your temper with customers, no matter how rude they are.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, it’s just a job while I’m in school.

What are your current career goals?
Engineering

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not really. It’s an ok job while I’m in school. The pay is good and the job is not hard or demanding. I don’t have to take my work home with me which gives me more time to study.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1
Prior Job 2n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4UFEngineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.