Teller (Female, Age 26) in montgomery, AL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Teller in montgomery, AL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeller
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week27
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmontgomery, AL
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Compass Bank is a bank currently located in Alabama, Florida, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, and Arizona. My personal branch has 10 employees in it. My city has several hundred, and company wide is in the thousands.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I handle cash transactions, deposits, withdrawals, payments, etc.. I also help customers with account questions and concerns.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, 401k, dental insurance, company paid life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
average probably

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I work closely with others in the banking center as well as with customers. I seem to like working with the public.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office environment. I like that it is professional and comfortable.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amArrive at work at 8:15- get the branch ready to open.
9am to 10amOpen branch at 9:00 am and start to do customer transactions.
10am to 11amcustomer transactions
11am to 12pmlunch break
12pm to 1pmcustomer transactions
1pm to 2pmcustomer transactions
2pm to 3pmcustomer transactions
3pm to 4pmcustomer transactions
4pm to 5pmClose inside of branch at 4:00. Work in drive through until close at 5:00 pm.
5pm to 6pmlock up everything and get off @ 5:15
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume, then was called back to fill out a paper application in our human resources office.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview with human resources then with the actual branch when I started working with the bank. Every time I moved to a better position, I had to interview with the immediate manager I would be working with.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked why I thought I would be good at the position, What special skills I had to bring to the position. I was asked about my current performance level also.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Absolutely. I was given ample time and resources to learn the job functions before I was put into the field.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through a classroom experience where they taught me basic transactions. I then went to a branch where I was observed by an employee doing the work.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, because it had nothing to do with what I am doing now.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
na

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have the recommended amount of experience handling money. (3 months) Utilize all trainig opportunities. Be willing to work with the public/others.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills to work with clients. organization skills to help better handle transactions and money. Basic Computer skills are a plus as you work with spreadsheets often in reports.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Some cashier experience is needed, most training is on the job.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have a great attitude and be customer service savvy. Also have experience handling customer concerns/complaints as you will encounter those.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now that I have been with the company so long. I intend to stay within the same company and move up the corporate ladder.

What are your current career goals?
To gradually move up the corporate ladder and eventually retire from this one company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I enjoy my job and the company I work for.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service Coordinator2 years25000Manage tellers as well as being in charge of the vault.
Prior Job 2Business class teller1year23000Handle all business transactions and refer new products to our business clients.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.76AUMPsychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.