Receptionist & Accounts Payable Clerk (Female, Age 41) in SUTHERLAND, NE

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Receptionist & Accounts Payable Clerk in SUTHERLAND, NE. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist & Accounts Payable Clerk
Salary$14,400
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week25
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSUTHERLAND, NE
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Total of 20 employees consisting of lawyers, legal assistants, office manager, receptionist, bookkeeper & errand person.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer & direct phone calls, greet clients, library publications, account payables, computer entry for client fees.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
0

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I have to interact with clients on the phone & when they come for their appointments. I enjoy that. I interact with lawyers & their legal assistants when questions arise.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
2 story office building. I am mostly alone except when people have questions. I like being alone but wish I had more support from the office manager on what I need to do with my job.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 8
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pmStart work. Go through mail & file documents. Process & file all library materials for the firm. Answer & direct phone calls.
1pm to 2pmGo through all bills to be paid on this day. Enter the bills into computer. Check report. All bills entered are ready to be paid. Print checks. Attach all bills to check copies. File documents. Send check to be signed. Answer phone calls.
2pm to 3pmMake revisions on lease agreement. Scan over document & check revisions. Print document. Send document to attorney. Answer phone calls.
3pm to 4pmType dictated memo. Scan over document and print. Revise lease agreement, reprint document. Answer & direct phone calls
4pm to 5pmMail bills. Type dictated letter. Change conference schedule for next day. Print reports for accounts payables & client advances. Check conference rooms & straighten up. Answer phone calls & direct calls. Turn off computer, copy machine & lights. Turn phone on to night service. Lock doors & leave.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Job Work Foce

What was the application process?
Submitted resume & interviewed for position, then went through testing & then received the job

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, personal interview with office manager & testing.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Work history, What qualifications did I have? Would I be able to train & how soon could I start?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I felt confident when I started working be myself.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I sat with the previous receptionist & listened to her taking calls. Then I took calls & she sat & listened & gave input on how I could do things differently.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, more job experience prepared me.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Fill out an application with the job force or placement agency.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are the most prominant qualification. You have to greet clients on the phone & in person. Sometimes clients can be rude & unpleasant. You have to be able to deal with this professionally & not take it personal.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Training is a must. Overall you need people skills.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient & don’t take things personally.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I want to go to a more friendly work environment. I feel like I do a very good job at what I do yet don’t get any feedback on my job performance.

What are your current career goals?
Bookkeeping.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Employers need to evaluate their employees based on their job performance & length of time they have been at their job.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Librarian2 years$8.50/hourI worked in the children’s library preparing books & cataloging. I waited on customers.
Prior Job 2Campground7 years1000/monthManaged day to day operation of home based campground. Made reservations, registered guests & answered questions. My husband did all the maintenance.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5McCook Community CollegeFashion Merchandising
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.