Bookseller 1 (Female, Age 27) in St Pail, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Bookseller 1 in St Pail, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBookseller 1
Salary$12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSt Pail, MN
Years Experience4 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a resale bookstore. We buy books, cds, lps, and movies from the public. We also get new books from publishers

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My major responsibilties include cashiering and basic customer sevice. It also includes shelveing and maintaining assigned section, Inventory reduction, and buying merch from customers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
United healthcare Health insurance, sick time and vacation time (10 days each).

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I think I am well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I enjoy working with other people. I like seeing other people and it gives a sense of variety to a normal day.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
There were 2 interviews, each was with 2 managers. They were both individual interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My interests, job expirence, my strenghts and weaknesses

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, we have an excellent training program and aren’t expected to do anything until we feel comfortable

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There is always ongoing training. Everyday you learn somethign new in a bookstore, Especially when buying from the public

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, you need a basic knowledge of many subject simply to decide where something may belong

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would say they would have be be knowledgeable in books and other forms of entertainment. they would have to be detail oriented. And most definately they would have to be outgoing and be a people person

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They would have to be familiar with how to operate a cash register and count money as that’s a big part of the job. They would have to be knowledge about the product and the layout because customer service is important.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be open minded and willing to learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It’s kinda a part of my career plan. It’s a full time job with bene’s and I love my job. But the pay isn’t the best.

What are your current career goals?
At this this it’s just to continue to work my way up in this company and maybe be shift leader someday.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Working in a bookstore is wonderful. You meet interesting people and you are always learning something new

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cafe2 yrs7.75Worked in cafe, made drink and food, cashiered, dishes, and customer service
Prior Job 2nsa2 yr11.5Serve and prepare food, do dishes, place orders, recieve orders,

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/s
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.