Packer/Inventory Manager (Female, Age 54) in san antonio, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 54 who works as a Packer/Inventory Manager in san antonio, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Packer/Inventory Manager
Salary $14,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25-40 depending on time of year busier during summer when school is out.
Company Size (not answered)
Location san antonio, TX
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
our company is a moving company which provides services for civilian and mostly military relocations. we are contracted to service these moves through military housing companies and a van lines company. Our company employees 5-10 packers depending on time of year, and approximately 20 warehouse workers who load incoming and outgoing shipments.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
packing family to relocate using military regulations and standards, unpacking military members new to our area and completing inventory on boxes that are packed to move.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no benefits at this job

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated only because of lack of benefits

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis. But I don’t always work with the same people everyday. And I work with different clients not always daily but at least three times a week. That is something I like about this job, a variety of workers and clients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We work in people’s homes and offices so it’s not the same place more than a day or two.I like the experience of working in different homes and areas of town.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Drive to the location where I’m packing a military servicemember to relocate.
8am to 9am Do a quick tour of the house and garage plus any outside storage units to find out what is going with the family and what we are supposed to pack. Also, discuss with individual how our company packs, what items we are not allowed to pack and see if there are any questions.
9am to 10am Pack belongings beginning with garage and outside units while it is still cool outside.
10am to 11am 15 minute break from 10 to 10:15 then continue packing.
11am to 12pm Packing and continue to answer questions from family members, also ask questions if in doubt whether to pack some items or not.
12pm to 1pm lunch break from 12 to 1 pm.
1pm to 2pm continue to pack items moving from room to room upon completion of rooms. Pack items according to govenment regulation as to what items are packed in each size and type of box ie dishes and glass in a dish barrel, hanging clothes in a wardrobe carton etc…
2pm to 3pm packing continues
3pm to 4pm break from 3 to 3:15, call office from job site to verify next day’s assignment. update office on the staus of this day’s pack, how much packing is left and time left before completion.
4pm to 5pm if this is a one day job, begin inventory of all items boxed by packers. Label boxes with stickers and list on inventory forms. If this is longer than a one day job continue to pack items until 4:30 then begin cleanup for that day. Remove excess boxes, return to setup, pick up all papers and straps. Make sure all boxes are out of family’s way, not blocking foot path through house or in way of furniture, sinks, toilets or refridgerator.
5pm to 6pm job is done for the day, drive home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a fellow worker at a previous job

What was the application process?
Filled out a paper application and ent through an interview process

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with one of the owners of the company. She explained hours,details of the job, and some of the government standards.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Did I feel like I could physically do this job and did I have reliable transportation beause those two things are essential in this postion.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and I learned the rest as I worked.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
All training was done on the job. I was given a booklet that explained how items are packes and what items go in what boxes to read before my first day.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My educational background had nothing to do with this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I got into this company by hearing about it from a friend. But you don’t need any type of experience to start. Because this is a hands-on job, you must understand that you have to be fit enough to stand alot and be able to move boxes.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must be able to be around different types of people and be friendly and courteous. Also you must be organized enough to be able to keep a room free of clutter and able to analytically understand what to pack when and how and what order to do it in.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need training but it can be on the job training because all companies are different and have different standards.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be ready to put your game face on, work hard and be friendly.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, I didn’t think that I would ever do something like this. But I enjoy this job alot and don’t see myself doing anything different.

What are your current career goals?
Learning more about the moving business and maybe opening a small business doing the same thing

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 loss prevention 3 years 12.30 hr. Responsible for high risk packages coming in and out of facility getting to the proper trailer or truck for delivery.
Prior Job 2 Food service 2 years 8.50hr Prepared salads and snack bar items for school lunches

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 university of the incarnate word BAS in nutrition
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)