Measurement Deployment Engineer (Male, Age 27) in peoria, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Measurement Deployment Engineer in peoria, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMeasurement Deployment Engineer
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationpeoria, IL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Caterpillar Inc.well known for earthmoving equipments, engines, power generators sets,marine applications.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My job is to support the engine test cells as far as the instrumentation calibration and making sure they follow the regulations.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
vacation,401K,health insurance and retirement plan.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with others. As a team we discuss everything right from the task to compiling results.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office and shop floor.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amMeeting from 8-9am about the project progress that we are working on for the past 3 weeks, it is annual preventative maintenance on one of the emission benches we use at our engine test cells. my job is to answer the concerns of the technicians and making sure they have everything they needed in order to do their work.
9am to 10amProcessing the data from the project , i mentioned earlier.
10am to 11amProcessing the data from the project , i mentioned earlier and making any necessary changes in the project plan if needed.
11am to 12pmWeekly update with Project management office about this project scheduling.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmstudy on two different instruments comparison and putting some data together.
2pm to 3pmstudy on two different instruments comparison and putting some data together.
3pm to 4pmPreparing a presentation with the information i found out and the data that i put together.
4pm to 5pmshift hand off meeting and discussing about the project progress.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Electronic Application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes,3 rounds of individual interviews.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The interview is STAR based- Situation, Task, Action taken and Results achieved. They ‘ll put in a scenario and ask you how do you react/ make decisions ?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I have to read lot of manuals and procedures and keep my-self update with the latest processes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Nope.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I explain everything about what i do and good and bad things about my job and help him/her during the process to get in.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
minimum with bachelors degree and broad knowledge and experience with instrumentation and emission equipments and engine technogies.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Minimum of bachelors degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Never stop the process of learning and everything will be taken care of.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not sure.

What are your current career goals?
Keep on growing up as a professional till i retire.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Do not have anything to share.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Testing Engineer2.5yrs55000I worked as a testing engineer at caterpillar inc.
Prior Job 2Measurement Deployment Engineer0.5yrs60000Supporting engine test cell with instumentaion.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Osmania University,INDIABS in Mechanical Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3Bradley UniversityMS in Mechanical Engineering

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.