Phone Technician (Male, Age 31) in collingswood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Phone Technician in collingswood, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Phone Technician
Salary $45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location collingswood, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a VERY large telecommunication organization with thousands of employees nationwide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
customer service

fix phone lines / wires

find why phone service is not working proplerly or at all

installation

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 wks vaca , sick and personal days. 401 k and they offer different levels of health insur. i have free

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i normally work on my own, but if there is a problem sometimes we will call each other for help. i love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
i work inside and outside in ALL weather conditions. i like it when its nice, but we work in rain, snow, sleet….you name it…sometimes i come home cold and wet. not fun.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am wake up, check work laptop for jobs received for the day. usually 4-5 jobs per day. go to work truck and get to first job by 8 am.
8am to 9am arrive at first job. find box. climb pole. find dial tone.
9am to 10am sit on job. easch job is expected to take about 1 and1/2 hrs.
10am to 11am drive to next job. talk to customer. find out what is problem. find box. repair wires
11am to 12pm finish job
12pm to 1pm meet up with some of the guys.take lunch
1pm to 2pm find next job. drive there. find box. find problem . fix wires.
2pm to 3pm go to next job. people are not home. call in to dispatch for another job to replace this one. get to new job.
3pm to 4pm install phone lines in home.
4pm to 5pm finish job. do paperwork. no overtime today.
5pm to 6pm log out of comp. and drive home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend.. word of mouth…

What was the application process?
online app. interview. 2nd interview.written test. physical. drug test. about a month of paid training

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
there were 2 seperate individual interviews with 2 different people

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
qualifications.

other than that i really cant remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. the gave us all tools needed. physically as well as on the job tools.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
it was intensive.

pole climbing.

lots of safety.

lots of tech work/ review. and then followed someone for a bit.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
in a way, but only bsics.. i learned in depth when i trained.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get in as early as you can. its a great job with great pay/ benefits. if they are not accepting apps, keep on checking back and applying untilo they are

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
be able to work on your own

be motivated

understand technology

good communication skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
they provide you with training that i believe is adequate even if you have never done it before

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
dont cut corners. be on time. do the job right the first time.dont make your managers have to check up on you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
i plan on staying there until i retire. i love my job.

What are your current career goals?
move up to the top box in my company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
if you can get in… do it. it will be well worth it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 phone tech 3yrs 22 find, repair phone problems indopors/ outdoors at line
Prior Job 2 cable tech 2 yrs pd per job . on average about 17 hr. find/fix problems with phone, internet/cable. install all 3

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 lincoln tech electronics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.