Front Desk Clerk (Female, Age 30) in chico, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 30 who works as a Front Desk Clerk in chico, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFront Desk Clerk
Salary$17,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationchico, CA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Hotel which allows guest to stay and sleep with breakfast served in mornings, easy for them to enjoy there day when they leave.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
checking guest in and checking guest out of hotel.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Fairly treated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes I work with others on daily basis. Dont like to much I’m blesses I have a job to pay my bills.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office time seems to go by slow sometimes when hotel is not full.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGetting off of work from Comfort inn and now getting at least two hours of sleep.
8am to 9amgetting ready for my next job as medical office helper for two hours.
9am to 10amarriving at Enloe Medical Center to help as a volunteer for I need to do this to get job so that my foot can be in the door.
10am to 11amhelping Enloe medical office with paper work and front office work
11am to 12pmleaving enloe medical office at 12pm going home to get some rest
12pm to 1pmfixing something to eat before I go to bed. i have a husband so I need to make sure he is ok
1pm to 2pmsleeping
2pm to 3pmsleeping
3pm to 4pmsleeping
4pm to 5pmsleeping
5pm to 6pmwaking up and taking shower feeding my dog and making dinner
6pm to 7pmeating dinner and wathing tv along with getting up every now and than to see if the house needs any work like; laundry, kitchen clean, bathroom clean ect..
7pm to 8pmrelaxing
8pm to 9pmgetting ready to go to work
9pm to 10pmwarming up car for I live in chico and my job is in Pardise
10pm to 11pmDriving to work
11pm to 12amat work checking in

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Walk in

What was the application process?
resume and job application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I have to interview for my current possition. It entailed of my job skills along with my attitude and cleanleness. Interviewed just with manager of on-site

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Am I availble Sat and sundays. Do I have experiance in the job I’m applying for. What are my goals in life.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
nope just hired me and put me on computer.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I have worked in office jobs since I was 16yrs now 30yrs.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Keep on calling the manager to see how and when they can come in for interview and to see if manager over seen there resume.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Always maintain clean look. As well as try to gain some front desk customer service skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes We all do. College is a great way to start

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Always stay focused on work nothing more. Always try your best to be on time along with if you need to be absent always make sure you call in way before your time on schedule if you need days off request them about two weeks to three in advance. Always smile and treat the guest the way you want to be treated

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
somewhat. It is office work

What are your current career goals?
College I already sucesseded and now Need to get into my field as a Medical Administrative Assistant.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is very hard to get into a career without experiance even though you graduated college. They still want you to have experiance.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Clerk3yrs8hr 40hrweekChecking guest in and checking guest out. customer service and computer skills
Prior Job 2medical mail1yr9.hrmail all forms for neilmed pharmacuticals

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9Empire CollegeMedical Administrative assis.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.