Head Cook (Male, Age 48) in Baltimore, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 48 who works as a Head Cook in Baltimore, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleHead Cook
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week48
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBaltimore, NY
Years Experience30 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large cater we have over 1hundred employees it is a non profit

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I open the kitchen get out supply’s have food ready when the rest of the crew show up to start cooking then i start cooking then we load up the food and deliver and when we get back I close down and clean up for the next day i also in charge of of ordering the food

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
one week paid vaction each year we have a health plan that I belong to Kaiser 10 day sick leave we have a 4011k plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I cold use more monney

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes I work with other cooks in the kitchen I enjoy cookin and coming up with new recipes for work

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a large kitchen working with other cooks

some times the kitchen is hot

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
took cooking clasin high school and loved to cook

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes had to go in and cook from a recipe that they gave me

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
how long was I in the cooking

where I worked

did I go to school

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes they told me to love my job or get out of the kitchen

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went to a food culinary school for two years then I started in the kitchen

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes it taught me the whole industry

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
first start in fast food than go to a good cooking school than get a job at a restraunt

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
they must love to cook

must like working in a hot kitchen

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
start in fast food

cookikg school

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes one day I would love to open my own restraunt

What are your current career goals?
To keep cooking and one day open my own restraunt

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just fun to cook

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1head cook30 yrs25open kitchen

cook

Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
dundalkfoodf service
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.