Math Teacher 

(Male, Age 57) from Milton, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 57 who works as a Math Teacher in Milton, MA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Math Teacher
Salary $89,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Milton, MA
Years Experience 30 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Boston Public School systemre, which educates 60,000 students. There are approximately 5,000 teachers (from regular education teachers to school psychologists)

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a 7th grade math teacher, teaching pre-algebra to 140 7th graders divided into 5 classes.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
dental coverage, legal services, health insurance (I’m responsible for 15%), summers off with three vacations of a week duration during the school year (Sept-June), annuitiy plans, accumulated sick leave, 18 sick days added on each year with 4 personal days which accumulate.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am arrive at work, get ready for school day, monitor homeroom period
8am to 9am period 1 pre algebra class
9am to 10am period 2 class with part of period 3, period 2 is a study period where I monitor a group of 28 students.
10am to 11am part of period 3 and period 4
11am to 12pm part of period 4 and lunch
12pm to 1pm period 5 and part of period 6, period 6 is a free planning period
1pm to 2pm part of period 6 and part of period 7
2pm to 3pm end of period 7, school day is over at 2:15 and teachers are allowed to leave, but many usually stay for another hour to plan for the next day. Many teachers bring papers home to grade
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm work on grading papers (homework, quizzes)
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.