Chemical Engineer (Female, Age 26) in West Columbia, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Chemical Engineer in West Columbia, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleChemical Engineer
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWest Columbia, SC
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large and well know chemical production company. This company has locations worldwide and over 10,000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
As a chemical engineer, I support daily production. I provide technical assistance as well as implement innovation projects. I network with manufacturing as well as our customer base.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation, full health insurance, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I absolutely work with others on a daily basis, and this is a positive aspect of my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office and enjoy the ability to network with others easily.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCommute to work.
8am to 9amCaught up on any significant changes in the production area over night. Spoke with the operators and other engineers about the plans for the day. Reviewed process data collected over night.
9am to 10amAttended our daily morning meeting with various members of management. Provided status updates on the production areas. Learned of any changes to the production schedule. Gave a presentation to the group about a safety improvement.
10am to 11amWorked on responding to emails. Corresponded with a vendor to purchase a new piece of equipment.
11am to 12pmCompleted a training course and information manual for safe operation of the new piece of equipment.
12pm to 1pmHad lunch.
1pm to 2pmAttended a 2-hour project workshop meeting. The meeting included brainstorming by all parties to troubleshoot a persistent process problem. Discussed all the cost, pros, and cons, and timeline of each option. Narrowed down the choices to focus on the most reasonable solutions. Put together a schedule to monitor our improvement.
2pm to 3pmContinued with the project workshop meeting.
3pm to 4pmMade phone calls to other employees regarding the workshop meeting. Setup future meetings to discuss our progress and any problems that might be encountered.
4pm to 5pmCompiled instructions for operation over night. Checked in with operations before leaving.
5pm to 6pmCommute home.
6pm to 7pmHome
7pm to 8pmHome
8pm to 9pmHome
9pm to 10pmHome
10pm to 11pmHome
11pm to 12amHome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my job through a career fair at college.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume to apply for this job.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had multiple (5 or 6) individual interviews with human relations as well as management and coworkers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked to provide examples of my engineering capability, problem solving, and leadership skills using real past experiences.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my mentor was highly capable in preparing my for my job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I was provided a mentor for the first few months at my job. The mentor familiarized me with all aspects of my job and introduced me to key resource contacts.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
My chemical engineering degree definitely prepared me for this exact position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, my internship experience allowed me to confirm this was the right job for me. It allowed me to become comfortable with the company before committing to be a full time employee.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It is necessary to first obtain a chemical engineering degree. I would also recommend participating in an internship or co-op term.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills are highly important as a chemical engineer to develop understanding of manufacturing processes. Good communication with coworkers, operators, and upper management is necessary. Leadership skills are needed to advance a chemical engineering career.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, B.S. in Chemical Engineering

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is valuable to develop strong professional relationships with management and coworkers. Don’t be afraid to ask questions upfront to better understand the processes.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, this company allows for advancement opportunities.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to continue to advance to management in this field.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This chemical engineering position is a good mix of desk work and field work.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern3 monthsServed as an intern with the same chemical company I later became a full time employee with this company.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9UniversityChemical Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.