Registered Nurse (Female, Age 33) in Greenwood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Registered Nurse in Greenwood, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRegistered Nurse
Salary$60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGreenwood, NY
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Indiana University Hospital- large hospital

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Nursing care of patients on bone marrow transplant unit

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 wks vacation, 403b plan, Health insurance, dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I like this about my job because it makes the patient more personable

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
hospital, I feel comfortable in a hospital environment… Its generally clean and quiet

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
resume and face to face interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with a recruiter first and then the manager of my current unit.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How I handle death and dying?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they had an in depth orientation and additional education

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, College for 3 years, critical care certification/classes, Chemotherapy certification.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my degree was very specific

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go through a local nursing program

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
empathetic so they can deal with patients in the most respectful and helpful way

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Love your job but don’t let it consume your life

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, because I plan to retire as a nurse

What are your current career goals?
I am going back to school for an RN to BSN program. After that, I think I will specialize in nursing.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its extremely trying at times, definitely exhausting… but it is so worth it. As a nurse you make a difference every day.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1hotel clerk1.5 yr7.35Check in customers and customer service
Prior Job 2sales associate1 year8worked as meat and seafood sales clerk

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.98Ivy TechASN
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.