Pricing Coordinator - Finance Dept (Female, Age 28) in Chandler, AZ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Pricing Coordinator - Finance Dept in Chandler, AZ. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Pricing Coordinator - Finance Dept
Salary $37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chandler, AZ
Years Experience 3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Coca Cola – retail beverage manufacturer and distributor

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Coordinating pricing for North California and Hawaii customers. I enter PAT (Pricing Authorization Requests). I also set up pricing for new customers and/or change their pricing. I also enter commission rates for vending machines in North California and Hawaii.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, 401k, life insurance, STD, Vision, Health Care and Dependent Spending account

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I am accurately compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i do not work with others very often , my work is done independently for the most part. I have a supervisor that I report to and I sometimes with work with a team on different projects. I dont like when I share work with others because I am faster then most and always end up having to do the majority of the work

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
small cubicles in the corporate office. I do not like it as they are very small and not private at all. We used to have larger cubicles but now they gave everyone the same size. I hate as as it feels like a call center.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I arrived at work. I checked my voicemail messages and emails. Had to call a manager back and leave a message about a pricing problem that I fixed.
8am to 9am worked on PAT (Pricing authorization requests). Answered a few calls regarding pricing discrepancies
9am to 10am weekly meeting from 9-10 about department procedures and any new issues. Said goodbye to a girl leaving our department. Had donuts and coffee. I had no major part in this meeting – just a listener.
10am to 11am continued to work on PATs. Set up pricing for several new customers. Received a lot of phone calls about pricing issues which I will be working on..
11am to 12pm Continued to work on the pricing issues from earlier. Had to make a few phone calls to let them know things had been fixed. Went through several emails received this morning.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Set up pricing for several new customers in north Cal. Received a call about another pricing issue which i resolved.
2pm to 3pm left at 2 today for a drs appt..
3pm to 4pm drs appt
4pm to 5pm home
5pm to 6pm home
6pm to 7pm home
7pm to 8pm home
8pm to 9pm home
9pm to 10pm home
10pm to 11pm home
11pm to 12am home

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Arizona republic newspaper – applied on coca-cola website

What was the application process?
applied online at the companys website

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes I had to interview with 2 other people. It was a very lengthy interview without about 3 pages of questions. Then there was a thorough background check and drug test.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
there were a ton of questions, I dont remember the specific questions. However many of the questions started out “tell me about a time when….”

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
NO. It was much more overwhelming and detail oriented then they told us about. There is also a high level of stress and lots of overtime. it is also hard to get answers here – many times we will get different answers to questions on procedure depending who you ask!

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
not much. It was a very busy time and most of the training was by just asking questions as we went. We had a brief 1/2 day training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I feel I could do my work without my college education. Most of my past work experience prepared me for this job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
apply online at cokecce.com. That is the only way that they take applications. However I would not receommend getting a job here as we are getting ready for a big layoff in a few months.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
accounting, detail oriented, good typing skills, ability to handle conflict, phone skills, math skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
math and office experience

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It takes a while and is very overwhelming at first, but you will get it eventually! Also it is very repetetive and sometimes never-ending.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Accounting is part of my new career plan. At this point in my life I would like to eventually be a CPA.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to be a CPA, however I need to finish school and pass the certification first.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I must say that it is not where I thought I would be. I always wanted to be a writer or journalist.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 customer service 4 years 32000 customer service phone job handling claims, benefits, new insurance, cancellations, etc
Prior Job 2 bookkeeper 3 years 26000 accounts receivable, accounts payable, payroll, phones, benefits, etc.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.71995

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 ASU Associates
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.