RN (Female, Age 32) in Grosse Pointe Park, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a RN in Grosse Pointe Park, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRN
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week24
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGrosse Pointe Park, MI
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
inner city hospital, about 12,00-13,00 people work there

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
NICU nurse, take care of and assess premature babies and sick babies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance through the hospital, 403B, about 3 weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. You have to work with many others including RT, social work, parents, dr and so on.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work near downtown Detroit. It is fine. The hospital is close and police officers keep us safe.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through school

What was the application process?
electronic application and word of mouth

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one interview. I practiced interview questions from the internet.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
How did you solve a problem at your last job or clinical site?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. You will never see everything before you are on your own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to follow different nurses for about 7 months or so. I received harder patients the further along I went.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. The education mostly is to wean you out of the program.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes!

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They have to go to college and get their BS.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills and organization skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It takes a long time (6 months to a year) to even start to feel comfortable, but don’t give up.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I am happy staying put for now.

What are your current career goals?
I want to work part time and be a mom.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
You will meet lots of people.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1RN3 yearsRN
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:Dondero

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Oakland University
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.