Photographer (Female, Age 21) in mesquite, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 21 who works as a Photographer in mesquite, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePhotographer
Salary$16,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week26
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmesquite, TX
Years Experience3.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large photography studio with chain all over the US

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i organize and shoot the photo shoots then develop the film

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
no benefits.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
i am defiianatly under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, i like and dislike because i dont get along with everyone, most of the time i do though.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
online at monster.com

What was the application process?
sumbit aplication, then do an interview and show current work

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
one main interview then group training

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i can not recall

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, she showed me how to handle rude costomers, which is the only bad thing

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes it showed us hot to work the lighting and how to use the backdrop scroll

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, never took any camera classes, just learned on my own

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
do your research, find out what type of camera your good at using and then promote your good assets with this camera, put together a portfolio

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
good social skills, good eye for lighting, and a great imagination, oh and also not be shy

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no you do not,

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
dont let the costomers get to you, you know the lighting, you know the film, YOUR the photographer.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, it will hopefully help me with freelanceing

What are your current career goals?
i would love to be hired on as a photojournalist for national geographic or some other nature journal

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not really, its all pretty basic.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1nananana
Prior Job 2nananana

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
nanana
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
nanana

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.