Network Administrator (Male, Age 31) in Burke, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Network Administrator in Burke, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNetwork Administrator
Salary$63,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBurke, VA
Years Experience1 month

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
For more than 65 years, EDAW’s collaborative approach to landscape architecture, planning/urban design, environmental planning, and economic, social, and cultural services has shaped sustainable environments across the globe. (that was cut and pasted from our website, www.edaw.com) We have offices on every continent (except Antarctica and, I think, South America). The office I work in has approximately 70 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I’m the network admin. My job is to make sure all the computers here work, so everyone else in the office can earn the big money that pays my salary. If you plug it in, it’s probably my responsibility to configure and maintain. That includes our servers but, thankfully, not the HVAC in this building. Antivirus, firewalls, email, software support, mice, keyboards, laptops… if you can imagine it and it thinks in binary, I’m your guy.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks’ PTO; full medical, dental & vision; 401(k); profit sharing; pet insurance; employee discount program

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated, thank you.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yep. I have to interact with all of my users as well as my boss (who sits about 8 yards from me). I don’t particularly like it but it beats the heck out of my last job on a Help Desk for Real Estate Agents!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Not sure what this blank is for but just in case it’s meant for me to express an opinion on the two questions above: I prefer collaborative work to dicatatorial environments, although I am not above issuing the occasional proclamation (such as “don’t plug your space heater into your UPS if you want your computer to work” for instance).

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work, prepare coffee, check overnight email messages, verify that backups ran properly last night.
8am to 9amContinue checking email, check “daily” websites (www.slickdeals.net for example), eat breakfast. Troubleshoot issue with card reader on 3rd floor scanning station.
9am to 10amBuild laptop for field employee. Push down image using Ghost server (this installs the Operating System and all necessary applications as well as Group Policy and security settings). Surf the internet while this is working.
10am to 11amContinue laptop build, respond to user issue with dual monitor setup (she had reversed the monitors so that what should have displayed on the right was actually on the left).
11am to 12pmContinue laptop build and surfing.
12pm to 1pmFinish building laptop, customize for the user (log in with his credentials, set up his Outlook, launch all applications to make sure they work under his profile). Deploy laptop (give it to the user, wire up his docking station, remove the desktop PC he’s been using).
1pm to 2pmClean up from laptop deployment; lunch.
2pm to 3pmOrder new monitor and stand for employee with laptop and docking station. Get a quote from Dell and forward it to our procurement manager. Begin answering career project questionnaire.
3pm to 4pmContinue filling out questionnaire, receive approval from purchasing manger, place order with Dell.
4pm to 5pmRack Riverbed server (install it in the server room using hardware: screws, nuts, bolts, etc.) for future use. Go home!
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I’m not sure what this question means. Then again, I’m not sure I have a career plan! I’ll stay here as long as it’s still fun and they want to keep paying me good money.

What are your current career goals?
Keep learning–get more certifications. Travel a bit; this company has offices EVERYWHERE. Make more money, maybe enough to move closer to the office so I don’t have to drive 30-45 minutes each way every day.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Pick the right company and this job is recession-proof!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Help Desk Tech20 months43000Supported over 2000 field agents in 250+ field offices all over the Eastern seaboard. 90+ applications, approximately 60 of them proprietary to the company. Phone and remote desktop support. Hellacious job.
Prior Job 2Help Desk Tech3 months$20/hourContract position on a hospital help desk. Support all hospital users, desktops, laptops, Lifebooks (fun!), printers, scanners, etc. Phone and desk-side support throughout the hospital.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Saint Lawrence UniversityEnglish (Writing), Political Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.