Office Manager 

(Male, Age 24) from Northbrook, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Office Manager in Northbrook, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Office Manager
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Northbrook, IL
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
real estate agency

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
manage office work, policies and regulations and paperwork.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks pto medical dental vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
like, we have a great staff

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, it is nice

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am nothing
8am to 9am commute
9am to 10am check emails
10am to 11am organize day
11am to 12pm staff meeting
12pm to 1pm lunch
1pm to 2pm managment meetings
2pm to 3pm return calls
3pm to 4pm handle issues
4pm to 5pm check emails and resolve any other issues.
5pm to 6pm commute home
6pm to 7pm nan
7pm to 8pm na
8pm to 9pm na
9pm to 10pm na
10pm to 11pm na
11pm to 12am na

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
faxed resume, interviewed a couple of times and hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes a couple of interviews with managment.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
sorry can’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
it was a lot of on the job training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
start off at a lower postion and work hard to get promoted.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
great organization, people skills and management abililty.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
just work hard, respect people and keep organized.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, i feel i can work their for a long time, maybe one day i will open my own office.

What are your current career goals?
eventually open my own office

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 office manager 4 65000 manage re office
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.