Medical Coder (Female, Age 50) in lisbon, CT

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 50 who works as a Medical Coder in lisbon, CT. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Coder
Salary$45,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlisbon, CT
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
small physicians office

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
provide codes for physicians services for reimbursement from insurance companies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
bc bs dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work with the staff and enjoy it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
small office would like it bigger

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 6
Benefits: 5
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amarrive at work start researching codes
8am to 9amstill coding, finding files
9am to 10ambreak then start on the newer patient files
10am to 11amcoding
11am to 12pmcoding
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmcoding
2pm to 3pmoff
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
paper application, provided transcripts

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
basic, why do I want to work for the company, what can I bring to the company

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes ther was a practicum at the end of my college courses to prepare for the real worlk

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, it is something that requires schooling

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes definetly

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get the education required

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
many technical skills, organizational are major also

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
definetly

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Its a wonderful position to have, take college courses to learn

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, this is what I chose to do

What are your current career goals?
I would like eventually to manage the office

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it@@

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1waitress7 yrs22000
Prior Job 2m coder2 yrs42000medical coding

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Charter OakHIM
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.