Teacher (Female, Age 38) in Midland, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 38 who works as a Teacher in Midland, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Teacher
Salary $20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Midland, MI
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Medium sized school district in a somewhat rural setting. There are 13 elementaries, three middle and 2 high Schools.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a teacher at the elementary level. I teach all subjests to the students except gym & art.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, I pay part

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with my para and other teachers too.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 8
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Get up at 6 am to get ready to go to wark. Arrive around 8:15 AM.
8am to 9am Prepare classroom for the day. School starts at 8:30 AM
9am to 10am Teach the students. Schedule various but usually this is morning work time.
10am to 11am More teaching.
11am to 12pm Lunch & relax time
12pm to 1pm Back to teaching. Usually reading/writting workshop and Science.
1pm to 2pm Still with students teaching.
2pm to 3pm Still teaching. There maybe a break when they go to specials.
3pm to 4pm Students leave around 3:30 then I prepare for the next day.
4pm to 5pm May still be at school working on future lessons.
5pm to 6pm Home doing home stuff or out shopping for needed things.
6pm to 7pm Dinner at 6 with family. Maybe some TV or computer time.
7pm to 8pm My time at home. Prehaps time to do chores.
8pm to 9pm time to relax
9pm to 10pm Above varies because sometimes more classes at the university changes the schedule.
10pm to 11pm finish up tasks
11pm to 12am News and bedtime.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
resume, application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t rember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was my job to prepare myself.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I went to the university and aquired a teaching degree. I also maintain it by taking so many credit hours every five years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I have the proper knowledge.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Send in a resume to any district that is hiring.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A good teacher is caring, knowledgable, flexible, understanding and a team player. Must also be able to communiate well with parents and other staff.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes! One needs a degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is a hard career to get into. Consider something else or be patient and make sure you are highly qualified and have good contacts.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Ye, I have always wanted to teach.

What are your current career goals?
Remain in teaching.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
NO

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
cmu elementary teaching
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.