Freelance Writer 

(Female, Age 23) from Roanoke Rapids, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Freelance Writer in Roanoke Rapids, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Freelance Writer
Salary $12,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Roanoke Rapids, NC
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently help We post deals, bargains, sales, coupons and freebies to help people save money. We currently have 3 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I edit content, provide content, and answer the members questions.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel I get a decent amount

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with online members. I like helping people save money although it is time consuming.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 8
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am No work
8am to 9am No work
9am to 10am Began work. Began to post content and round up content for the day. Adding pictures as well.
10am to 11am Still posting content to the site and finding more to post. Adding pictures as well.
11am to 12pm Still posting content to the site and finding more to post. Adding pictures as well.
12pm to 1pm Moving on the help with problems the members reported. Also editing offers the members posted that are legit. Deleting offers that aren’t appropriate for the website.
1pm to 2pm Lucky today. Almost done. Checking the users comments for expired offers.
2pm to 3pm Done.
3pm to 4pm Done
4pm to 5pm Done
5pm to 6pm Done
6pm to 7pm Done
7pm to 8pm Done
8pm to 9pm Done
9pm to 10pm Done
10pm to 11pm Done
11pm to 12am Done

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
none. I volunteered and then was hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did speak in emails and once over the phone. But I had already proven that I knew what to do by volunteering my services for free first.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he told me exactly what to do and what to improve.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just a brief overview of what to do.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Kinda, I need to know proper English and grammar.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Volunteer first to be recognized.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Computer skills, good grammar, a good personality, and creativity.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
At least high school. You need to have proper grammar.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you have a lot of time to dedicate to the job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Now it is, I hope to keep moving forward.

What are your current career goals?
To hopefully own my own website one day.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.