Store Manager (Female, Age 23) in covington, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Store Manager in covington, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Store Manager
Salary $25,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location covington, GA
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at pier 1 imports. They have stores that are all over the country and sell products that are imported from other countries, hence the name.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I stay busy helping customers, associates, and unpacking our shipments and assisting in placing them in their proper places. I will sign off on checks, make drops at the bank, work in the office and out on the floor. I do pretty much everything.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 week vacation broken up twice, paid sick leave, and insurance coverage.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I am always working around others, I do enjoy this greatly.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office, and in the store. I dont dislike anything and I find it quite rewarding.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I walked into the store and applied.

What was the application process?
paper application, interview, then got hired.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
they asked about previous experience, previous jobs, my personality, what I do for fun, and what I expect from the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I was an associate first.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes, I worked as an associate for 2.5 years.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I have a B.S. degree and an interior decorating certificate.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend hard work, passion for what you do, consideration for others, respect, love, drive, and to keep at it.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
you have to be a leader, you should be open minded, willing to learn new things, and passionate about what you do.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, I have a B.S. degree in business and an interior decorating diploma. also I am working on my masters.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Like I said before… keep at it, make sure your heart is in it, and be on your P’s and Q’s.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I plan on staying in the company.

What are your current career goals?
I plan to continue working for pier 1.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think I have pretty much covered it all..

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4 Grand Canyon University b.s.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.