(Female, Age 25) from baton rouge, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Librarian in baton rouge, LA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Librarian
Salary $33,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location baton rouge, LA
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Community college with a student body of approximately 7500

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties are variable and include assisting students with the search functions of our database, cataloging books and other materials and doing odd jobs such as monitoring the student accessed printers.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
HMO health insurance, employer matched 401k, 2 weeks vacation, 5 days paid sick leave with an assumed degree of flexibility

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
currently undercompensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am I arrive at work between at 7:15, fifteen minutes early so I can compose and send a quick email to my boss, alerting him of changes to the meeting later in the day. I then check my inbox. Since there are no work related emails, I answer a few personal ones before my colleagues arrive.
8am to 9am My boss visits my office at 8:30 to confirm the changes to the later meeting. We then discuss unrelated matters. I leave my office around 8:15 to spend the rest of my workday in the library assisting students.
9am to 10am I am at the reception desk checking students out when they choose books and other media. Since it’s a slow time of day, I also spend this portion of the day updating our library’s new search system.
10am to 11am I continue assisting students and updating the computer system. Because of increased traffic, I am unable to accomplish much of the latter.
11am to 12pm I leave with my boss for lunch.
12pm to 1pm Upon our return, I continue my earlier duties at the main desk. I will not that this is unusual. I generally return to my office. Today, however, our student worker was sick.
1pm to 2pm I leave my post to join the meeting.
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.