Dual Diagnosis Therapist, Imf (Female, Age 29) in Anaheim, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Dual Diagnosis Therapist, Imf in Anaheim, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDual Diagnosis Therapist, Imf
Salary$24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAnaheim, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Hope House is a residential substance abuse treatment center. We house 56 residents and we have 25 staff

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I do individual and couples therapy with our residents

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others every day. I love it! If I didn’t, I wouldn’t do what I do.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I have an office at my work. I love my office. It is my personal space that I get to do what I want to do with it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 8
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGetting up at 7:30 and getting ready for work. Brushing my teeth, combing hair, getting dressed. pick up a breakfast bar from the kitchen, gather my work stuff.
8am to 9amLeave the house at 8:35 and head to work. Stop by Starbucks drive thru and pick up a Venti chai tea latte, hot or cold, depending on the day. Head to work.
9am to 10amGet to work and head to supervision meeting. Talk about clients and any difficult situations that I have dealt with, with my clients, throughout the last week.
10am to 11amContinue with supervision
11am to 12pmContinue with supervision
12pm to 1pmLeave supervision and head across the street front he administrative offices toth e residential side of the facility. Talk with a. Few clients before head to my office. Once I’m in my office unload all of my stuff from my work bag and get things set up for my sessions. I turn on my computers dull up the paperwork that II need to fallout after each of my sessions.
1pm to 2pmSee my first client of the day; talk wit them about their issues and anything significant going on I then house( I can’t disclose too uh due to confidentiality issues).
2pm to 3pmSecond Client
3pm to 4pmThird client
4pm to 5pmFourth client
5pm to 6pmDinner time. Head down to the kitchen and feta plate of food from the residents. Head back to my office and eat my dinner while i am finishing up my notes from. My last 4 sessions. Get ready for my next sessions.
6pm to 7pmFifth client
7pm to 8pmSixth client
8pm to 9pm7th client
9pm to 10pmClean my office and go out to the parking lot. Sit in my cr fora. Minute and then I head home. I live close to work, so it takes me about 10 minutes to get home. Once I get home I shower, and then I chill and. Watch tv or talk tommy. Friends.
10pm to 11pmTV and computer
11pm to 12amTV and computer

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Email resume, phone interview, in person interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews that were both individual. I had one with the executive director and one with the clinical supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Education

Scenarios I may face and what I would do

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, only schooling

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
You would have to go to school and get your M.A. In Clinical Psychology with an emphasis in marriage and family therapy.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Communication skills

Good listener

Critical thinker

Organizational skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitely

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t take things clients say personally.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I love the drug and alcohol field.

What are your current career goals?
Get my license, and then I would like to go back to school to get my Psy.D

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Therapist Trainee9 months0Therapy
Prior Job 2Support Specialist4 years9.35I did money audits, kept associate files up to date, did price changes, ups receiving and shipping, bank deposits.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.83

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7CSUFB.A. In Psychology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.95PepperdineM.A. In Clinical Psychology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.