Customer Service (Female, Age 28) in Brentwood, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Customer Service in Brentwood, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCustomer Service
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrentwood, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large cable provider. We provide Cable, internet, & phone services over a large multi-state area

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide customer service regarding account modification, product troubleshooting and billing inquiries

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
two weeks vacation, week sick/personal time, 401K medical dental vision — product benefits (phone , internet & cable services)

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work in a call center so I do have a team of co-workers but we dont work together. I like the fact every call is the same but slightly different ( whether is a issues with the cable box or a question on the billing). My main dislike is that fact its such a stationary job and theres not much movement

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a call center. I dont like that I dont have the same cubicle everyday so theres no real comfort level to have there.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am** I WORK IN A CALL CENTER SO I WILL LIST DIFFERENT TYPES OSD CALLS**
11am to 12pmI being by signing on my tools (to see accounts, check equiptment signals)
12pm to 1pmRead all emails: updates/policy changes -performance reviews – company info
1pm to 2pmAssist a customer with billing inquiry 1. Review acct 2. Check for any recent changes 3. Explain findings to customer
2pm to 3pmAssist a customer with a missing channel 1. Do troubleshooting with customer
3pm to 4pmShip customer a new remote
4pm to 5pmLunch
5pm to 6pmExplain to a customer how to use equipment (*example: how to program their DVR)
6pm to 7pmCustomer box not working – reboot cablebox with customer
7pm to 8pmOrder Pay Per View Events with customer – advised them of price,channel to tune to and other event details
8pm to 9pmAdd different Movie packages ( example: if customer want to add HBO to basic cable
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
They found me ( careerbulder.com)

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did an interview that consisted of a question and answer session as well of a side by side listening session of someone doing the actual job I was applying for.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I sorry I dont remember but alot of self-evaluation questions ( whats your strongest/weakest skill?)

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes total of 6 weeks training prepared for just about any call

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes 4 week classroom training ( procedures and product knowledge)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
NO not my education but prior work experience

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Someone must show that they are able to multi-task in a fast working atmosphere and show the WILLINGNESS to go with what every changes come your way

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I think someone should be able to mutlitask ( as mentioned before) There job consist of wearing many hats and you must be able to wear them all properly. Some technical skill is required in the service/repair aspect of the job. You not only need to understand how to fix the problem but also convey to the customer what they need to do as well so this would also be strong communication skills as well

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes at least high school diploma — experience is key!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take notes, strive to success and never stop learning!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
This current job is a career plan because customer service is the basis for many other career options ( retail, sales, advertising) its a fundimental of all successful businesses

What are your current career goals?
Right now I plan to work in customer service while studying techinical skills (such is A+ certifications, Networking) Hopin to obtain a more techincal postion in the customer service

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love helping people and take pride in making someone’s day just that must better.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Customer Service1 year8.40 per hourcustomer service retail: retail transactions, upkeep of the sales floor
Prior Job 2Front Desk4 month10 per hourtaking in patients , answering phones , scheduling appts, medical data entry

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.