Senior Tax Accountant 

(Female, Age 24) from Indianapolis, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Senior Tax Accountant in Indianapolis, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Senior Tax Accountant
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Indianapolis, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
45-50 employees, provides tax, accounting, bookkeeping, and auditing services to small businesses and individuals

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Prepare tax returns of all types including individual and corporate income tax returns. Assist clients with bookkeeping and accounting questions as needed. Tax planning.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 2 weeks personal time, health savings account, 401k with company match

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am The first thing I do is check my email, and I usually have a few emails from clients, which I respond to as needed. After that, I finished a client’s payroll that I had started the day before. The client is an emergency room doctor group with about 60 employees and we prepare their payroll (calculate their paychecks, payroll withholdings, and transfer the money to the employees bank accounts).
8am to 9am Did several miscellaneous tasks: called a bank and tried to get them to send to me duplicate bank statements for one of our client’s bank accounts so I could reconcile the client’s bank accounts for the first quarter; called a client to reschedule a conference call for tax planning; answered some other clients emails regarding their property tax returns.
9am to 10am Working on putting together financial statements for a small home inspection business so we can do their tax return. This involves inputting the client’s transactions for the year into a spreadsheet software and then making adjustments to the client’s information so that their financial statements tie to other source information (such as bank statements and payroll reports).
10am to 11am Still working on financial statements. Looked through client’s information to determine if they had purchased any new assets that needed to be capitalized. Input new assets into fixed assets software.
11am to 12pm lunch
12pm to 1pm Still working on financial statements.
1pm to 2pm Still working on financial statements.
2pm to 3pm Worked on quarterly payroll tax returns for a doctor group. Employers must file returns with the federal and state governments reporting their payroll and the taxes that have been withheld for each quarter. We prepare these for many of our clients.
3pm to 4pm Continue to work on quarterly payroll tax returns for doctor group.
4pm to 5pm home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.