Labor Relations (Female, Age 32) in Canton, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Labor Relations in Canton, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLabor Relations
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCanton, MI
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Automotive manufacturer; international organization; well over 50000 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Customer service to hourly unionized employees. Uphold the contract requiring grievance administration and disciplinary hearings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days vacation, 5 personal/sick days, 401 k with match

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
job does entail working with others. I like this in some respects when you have cooperation involved but when I have to rely on someone who is not cooperative it inhibits me from completing tasks necessary

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
We work in a manufacturing facility. It is an old building and and heatign and cooling issues, but we have windows and it is nice to be able to see the outside on a daily basis.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amStart work at 5:30am. Meet with midnight shift employees regarding attendance hearings, pay issues and other verbal grievances. Print reports necessary for SOX
8am to 9amAttend food service meeting, where we meet with potential vendors to create a cafeteria in a new facility and maintain current needs as well as vending. Members of the meeting are corporate purchasing, vendor, maintenance managers as well as HR Director. I take notes and follow up on assignments
9am to 10amAttendance hearings for day shift hourly employees
10am to 11amFill out Expense reports for hourly employees who attended an off-site weel long conferernce, ontain appropriate authorization signatures and submit. Fill out travel requests for upcoming event inclusing airfare reservations and hotel accomodations for 5 employees.
11am to 12pmbreak, lunch
12pm to 1pmGrievance meeting with bargaining representatives and co-worker. Tackle approximately 20 grievances and write settlements or dispositions.
1pm to 2pmPrepare denied grievances for next stage in the grievance procedure – write summary as well as print applicable documents
2pm to 3pmclose out open issues, leave the office at 2:30pm (work days is from 5:30am to 2:30pm)
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral

What was the application process?
submitted resume online, phone interview, onsite visit, offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. phone interview (i was an out-of-state applicant), then onsite interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Behavioral based interview questions, very standard

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, however I already had previous applicable experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I shadowed the person I was replacing for a couple of weeks.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, my master’s especially because it is in industrial relations which is the same thing as Labor Relations

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
internship allowed me to determine the path within Human Resources that I wanted to take.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a master’s degree in Human Resources or an MBA. Most auto companies recruit directly from master’s programs

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
assertivenss as well as confidence, and have the ability to determine right and wrong and yet maintain relationships while making tough decisions

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Masters

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make good, strong relationships; however don’t be too quick to trust everyone

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I have to work in a manufacturing plant prior to being placed within the company at the corporate offices at higher levels with a different customer base

What are your current career goals?
Maintain employment but also have flexibility to raise a family.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Senior Coordinator, Human resources3 yearsNon-union Employee Relations, recruitment in multiple countries, training and development (including creation of a new performance review for salaried employees), managing staff of two
Prior Job 2Labor Relations1 yearLabor Relations covering employees from three different bargaining units under the same union but with different contracts

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1Michigan State UniversityBS Human Resources
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8Wayne State UniversityMA Industrial Relations

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.