IT Consultant 

(Male, Age 38) from Mountain View, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 38 who works as a IT Consultant in Mountain View, CA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title IT Consultant
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location Mountain View, CA
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Self owned IT consultant company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide customers with recommendations and assistance on technical purchases.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, customers. I like this aspect of the job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 2

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Created own job.

What was the application process?
Created own job.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my former employers provided the training, assisted me in becoming more organized and comfortable working with people.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, lots of hands on technical training. Technical classroom training from former employers at Cisco and Global Knowledge.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, my educational training was in a totally different field.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Try a few consulting jobs on the side before committing to self employment.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must have high levels of social, organizational and technicals skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Enjoy and be comfortable working with people and technology.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes this is what I want to do. I enjoy being my own boss.

What are your current career goals?
I will continue doing what I do possibly working less hours as the years go by.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
A satisfying way to make a living.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 IT Professional 7 80000 Project management
Prior Job 2 Pharma 4 45000 Technician, moves, adds of IT equipment. Database specialist.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6 Foothill Art AA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.