Family Practice Attending (Male, Age 30) in merrick, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Family Practice Attending in merrick, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFamily Practice Attending
Salary$107,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmerrick, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Medisys family care center is a medical office owned by jamaica hospital. I genarally see approx 15-20 patients per day on average.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
diagnose and treat adult and child patients.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, vision dental, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with front registration clerks, nurses, office manager, and a pediatrician. Everyone must get along to provide the best care to our patients. I generally enjoy working with everyone at this center.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amReview labs ordered on previous days. If lab is abnormal, instruct nurse to contact patient for return visit to the clinic. Begin seeing patients.
10am to 11amSee patients- don’t know how much more I can explain without violating hippaa regulations-lol
11am to 12pmSee patients
12pm to 1pmLunch hour
1pm to 2pmSee patients
2pm to 3pmsee patients
3pm to 4pmsee patients
4pm to 5pmsee patients…end of day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from another resident

What was the application process?
resume, paper/electronic application, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the chairman of family practice in Jamaica hospital as well as the chairman of ambulatory care, each separately. Each lasted approx 15 minutes, and very laid back

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What made you want to become a doctor? Why do you want to work for us? Do you eventually plan to open your own practice? What do you plan on accolpishing working with us? What are your hobbies?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Throughout residency, I worked in the hospitals outpatient clinic managing patients. I also saw patients in the pediatric and ob/gyn clinics, as well as the emergency department. I was also able to rotate through various electives.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through 4 years of undergraduate university, then 4 years of medical school. I then completed a i year rotating internship and 2 years of family practice residency. My residency exposed my to both inpatient and outpatient hospital care.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel my educational backround prepared me for my job. I think 4 years of medical school (having to pass 3 different board examinations) and 3 years of residency (1 board certification exam)is more than enough.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Internship is basically your first year of residency. It involoves the same duties, with more responsibilities as one progresses.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First to complete their residency. In their last year, begin looking for work 6 months prior to graduation. Apply for licensce, dea, insurances, during their final year of residency.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
The primary goal of medicine is patient care. I think that entails having social skills to interact with your patient and have them feel comfortable. Obviously, some technical skills are needed for certain procedures in the office, and good organizational skills are needed to deal with all the paperwork(ex billing, insurance companies, authorizations).

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definnatley require the 4 years of medical school and residency training.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
With the advent of more managed care, and decreasing salaries for family practice physicians, I think it is imperative you MUST like what you are doing. It is a long process to get to this point.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I feel that my current employment is part of my career plan. It gives me an opportunity to sharpen my skills and to see how an office is managed. I ultimately would like to open up my own practice. It also gave me a chance to go on all the insurance plans in a short amount of time.

What are your current career goals?
I ultimately want to open up my own practice on long island. I want to become my own boss, make my own hours, and decide which clientel I would like to see.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I pretty much summed it up above.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern1 year41000physician
Prior Job 2Resident2 years45000physician

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:ranked #14 in class

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.58NYITbachelor of science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
PNYCOMdoctor of osteopathy

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.