Sr. Vice President, Director Of Trading And Operations (Male, Age 27) in Cleveland, OH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Sr. Vice President, Director Of Trading And Operations in Cleveland, OH. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sr. Vice President, Director Of Trading And Operations
Salary $104,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size (not answered)
Location Cleveland, OH
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a 30 year old Broker/Dealer. We are a small firm with 5 core employees (including me) and 15 representatives.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My responsibilites include the supervision of all trading and trade personnel at the firm. I do active research, analysis, and trading of derivatives. I am also the Chief Financial Officer, so I work on preparing reports for our regulators.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 1 weeks sick, PPO Health Insurance, HSA Account, Life Insurance, Gas, Parking

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I believe that for the size firm I am in, I a well compensated, however compared to the industry, I believe I am under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I am responsible for 3 people who are my direct subordinates. I enjoy working with others, especially my traders.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 7
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A former partner of my prior investment firm got me in contact with the new buyer of this company.

What was the application process?
Not Applicable

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Mostly live interviews. There were four separate interviews over the course of about 6 months. This was primarily to make sure that I could work closley with the owner and it would be a good fit.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think this is a tough question because he brought me in to help run the broker/dealer… This is something that neither of us had done.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, most of the training is self study. At some of the bigger firms (where I came from) they teach all their new recruits together. At a bare minimum you are required to have 3 licenses to enter the business: NASD series 7, series 63, series 65. However in order to become a director, and a principal, I had to take a large series of tests. I am currently enrolled in two graduate certificate programs with NYIF.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I focused on finace and economics in school as well as mathematics and derivatives. Most everthing that was taugh in my core school courses I use in some for or another everyday.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They should look into an internship with a securities firm. The should familiarize themselves with the required tests that they must take before becoming registered to make sure that this is something they can do. The licensing exams can be quite difficult.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must have good mathematical skills, because a lot of what we do, especially in deritvatives and institutional trading is math based. (A strong knowledge of statistics and calculus) They also must have excellent social skills, as they will be constantly in communication with co-workers and customers of the firm. They need to have strong organizational skills as well. In a business like this, there is always a chance of a lawsuit and you must have notes and documents to prove your side.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutley, you must have a knowledge of finance and economics.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure you like what you are doing. It is a lot of hard work, lots of studying, LONG HOURS, and a rough road at first. This is not for someone who is not in love with this work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it would be my goal to become a managing partner of this firm. I have been offered to do that, however I dont have the money to buy in.

What are your current career goals?
My goal is to be president of my own trading firm.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
N/A

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Investment Specialist 3 Years 45000 I worked as an in house investment consultant for financial planners of a MassMutual Firm. My job was to run the investments of the insurance agents.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 University of Maryland Finance/Economics Bachelors
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NA New York Institute of Finance Derivatives and Risk Managment

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.