Owner (Male, Age 30) in Niles, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Owner in Niles, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOwner
Salary$90,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNiles, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Sole-propeitor of a company that partners across several segments of media and entertainment products. Colloborative music production, printed media materials for entertainment executives, exclusively designed shirts and clothing pertaining to pop culture.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Owner, management of all assets, digital audio editing, clothing design, production, and sale.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
N/A

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Fairly compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Actually, I miss the interaction (as a sole proprietor) that I would have working for another company. Doing this requires *self-motivation* and complete self-sustainability. I do *not* work with others on a daily basis and often communication is electronic.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Typically at home but I travel as needed when networking or working with hired contractors. Working in one’s home can be distracting so it’s pertinent to stay focused to get the work done.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up, eat breakfast, check day’s opening financial news (CNBC, etc).
8am to 9amContinue the above, have some coffee, shower and dress.
9am to 10amLog into online business accounts for sales, development, etc. to check messages, sales. Correspond, if nessessary with customers or business contacts.
10am to 11amHave a quick snack. Look over clothing inventory, package and send out orders. Edit graphic designs for future clothing items, look over financial “books” to review current ROI and forecast potential future ROI.
11am to 12pmEat lunch and drive into town, if nessessary, for errands, supplies, post office services, etc. Check postal mail and open any pertinent items.
12pm to 1pmCold call potential clients, taking notes of which ones are interested and which aren’t. Draft letters of inquiry to potential clients, print envelopes, seal and stamp.
1pm to 2pmSeveral hours spent developing new printed and/or audio materials, graphic designs, etc., or time spent revising and perfecting existing ones.
2pm to 3pmSame as above.
3pm to 4pmTake a break for a walk or physical activity.
4pm to 5pmCheck online business accounts again to deal with any new developments or communications over the course of the day. Then continue media and product development. Submit new orders for product, if nessessary, and record financial information (amount spent, profits, etc.).
5pm to 6pmResearch current media trends, look for growth opportunities and correspond to those trends. Plan new projects or products to be developed later based on the research.
6pm to 7pmDinner time and basically done with work for the day. The rest of the day is spent on personal things.
7pm to 8pmGo outside, if weather permits, visit friends, or do some leisure activity.
8pm to 9pmSometimes watch TV.
9pm to 10pmTV.
10pm to 11pmTV and then go to sleep.
11pm to 12amSleeping.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I got sick of being a top salesman for companies who didn’t appreciate me so I decided to be the boss.

What was the application process?
Considered amount of capital investment needed, gained working knowledge of U.S. Copyright law, checked with county about DBA status (Doing Business As)

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I feel that over the years, I unwittingly became prepared for this.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had former jobs that trained me in advanced business management and techniques. This was the best education I’ve received *anywhere.* Understanding those principals can be applied to managing and business or money venture.

As far as the “hands-on” creative part of the work, being able to use certain computer programs is nessessary.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My educational background which consists of only a HS diploma and *some* college.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start saving a certain percentage of your disposable income because running your business takes initial capital. If someone tells you otherwise, they are wrong 99.9% of the time. Also, be *very well* informed and researched about your business area, following current trends and self-educating with nessessary information.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Business management skills, first and foremost. One should understand things such as ROI (return on investment) and general business principals so that the business can be managed profitably. In my specific instance, being a graphic designer as one example, being able to utilize computer graphics program is essential.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It might take some time and some, if not many, mistakes before you figure out exactly how (and how you want) to run your business. You will definitely make errors and mistakes but you will learn from these so you can change accordingly. Remember this: Profitable businesses almost ALWAYS thrive on some type of change, whether that be technology changes, social changes, etc., etc., etc.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I believe it has the best possibility for the type of income I desire and it also allows me to be involved and make contacts in a business environment that I have always loved (the media).

What are your current career goals?
Expand clothing line, commercial audio production, and land a few solid film/television contacts.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it but like I said, you had better be able to self-motivate and perform without a “boss” breathing down your neck if you choose a career like this.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales Professional130000Automotive sales, service
Prior Job 2Supervisor526000Electronics sales, staff management and development

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7Southwestern Michigan CollegeGeneral Studies, N/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.