Attorney (Female, Age 27) in new york, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Attorney in new york, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAttorney
Salary$87,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week55
Company Size(not answered)
Locationnew york, NY
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
45 attorney class action securities litigation firm

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
general litigation prep, rief writing, deposition prep

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, paid vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
compared to my upringing, over, compared to my field, under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
work with other associates, paralegals, and partners. Love the ineration with all other than the partner

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amsleeping
8am to 9amsubway ride to work
9am to 10amcheck email, read the nytimes
10am to 11ammeeting with my team to discuss the upcoming fall deposition scehdule. Individuals deposed, locations and responsibility of the staff.
11am to 12pmmeeting with paralegal to discuss document project. need to compare redacted documents with no-redacted documents
12pm to 1pmreading about individuals to depose
1pm to 2pmreading of documents relevant to regions for depositions
2pm to 3pmmore reading, chart my billing time for the last week
3pm to 4pmmore reading, discuss strategy with otehr associate
4pm to 5pmmore reading
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
submitted resume through friend

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, one interview with 2 partners, lasted about 45 mins

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
skills, interests, former jobs, ideal job

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no, didn’t really train

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
somewhat, obviously law school helps

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to law school and find someone who works at a firm to submit your resume

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
no skills required, seriously, just go to law school

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
it is required

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
i would think long and hard if this is what they want

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, hope to get into a new path soon

What are your current career goals?
would love to get into a more food related field

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
would like to change it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1associate6 monthshourlyassisted 2 partner firm on general practice matters
Prior Job 2research assistant1 yearhourlyreserched for text book

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2pitzerpolitical studies, BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.2brooklyn lawJD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.