IT Analyst (Male, Age 34) in los angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a IT Analyst in los angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIT Analyst
Salary$85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlos angeles, CA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
TCS is Tata Consultancy Service, provind IT support & services to may large firms in the field of Software computing, IT back end support & enterprise support. It employs more than 100,000 employees world wide.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Provide IT infrastructure support & managing software service requests

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
15 days paid leaves. Cigna PPO Insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like to work with other members of my team. My job requires me to work with various groups involved in the Software service requests.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. I like to work from office as it gives me place to concentrate & focus on the issues on hand.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amstart the day with prayers
8am to 9amHave bath, breakfast & start my commute to work.
9am to 10amReach work & check emails, respond to priority mails.
10am to 11amStart working on the issues/ service requests.
11am to 12pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
12pm to 1pmLunch break
1pm to 2pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
2pm to 3pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
3pm to 4pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
4pm to 5pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
5pm to 6pmContinue working on the issues/ service requests.
6pm to 7pmBack to home
7pm to 8pmhome, shopping, eating out, dinner at home.
8pm to 9pmplay with kids
9pm to 10pmtv, pc
10pm to 11pmspend time talking with my wife
11pm to 12amsleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through a Job consulting firm

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had 2 rounds of interview. First one was a technical interview – questions about my past techincal skills, on the new skills required for the job. Second interview was on the actual job roles & resposibilities.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what are the context types available in a JSP?

how is a JSP session managed?

what are the design paterns you have worked on? what is factory design pattern?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. My employer trained me in the custom framework we used for authoring blu-ray discs.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Had a training session on Animation.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Ye, to some extent. My education was 4 year engineering in Electronics & communication, which suited in jobs which require both electronic system knowledge & software skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It is very important to understand the Software Development Life Cycle & have expereince working on such projects in order to get this kind of job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Person should be technically strong in computing, problem solving, tech savvy in using all the software tools, should be very cooperative & coordinate with fellow co-workers & supervisors.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just keep a focused on the work & keep an eye on learing new skills as the industry eveloves very fast.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because my main career focus has been working for a big company & do software development work.

What are your current career goals?
Do excell in my field & get into supervisor role.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Planning to get a masters in management.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1IT Analyst3 years85000Provide IT infrastructure support & managing software service requests
Prior Job 2Senior Developer190000Development of Field testing software for assesing the network coverage. Application perfomrnace testing & monitoring for SMS, MMS, J2ME Midlets.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8SJCE4 year engineering in Electronics & communication
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.