Technology Lead (Male, Age 30) in Winston Salem, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Technology Lead in Winston Salem, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Technology Lead
Salary $85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Winston Salem, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for one of the banks in Winston Salem NC. This is a back-office operation job which includes maintenance, development and support of mainframe and web applications

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Development, maintenance and production support

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, a lot of time is spent on interaction with clients and team members

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Work location is a good cubicle with all necessary equipments like desktop, dual screen monitor, phone and printer

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Travelling to work
8am to 9am Monitoring production jobs and creation of status report
9am to 10am Development and testing of mainframe program
10am to 11am Meeting with clients to discuss last weeks work
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Development and testing of mainframe program
1pm to 2pm Production support activity. Solving abend in mainframe batch cycle
2pm to 3pm Web research on automated testing tools for web application
3pm to 4pm Coordinate with different groups for project related activities
4pm to 5pm Development, testing, web research windup
5pm to 6pm Drive back home
6pm to 7pm Visit local GYM
7pm to 8pm Cook dinner and watch TV
8pm to 9pm Eat dinner and watch TV
9pm to 10pm Sleep
10pm to 11pm NA
11pm to 12am NA

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume and 3 interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
3 interviews in all out of which 3rd was HR related. The first 2 were technical interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
No

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they provided all necessary training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training on mainframe technologies

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, computer engineering helped in teaching me basics of programming

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Degree in Conputer engineering

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Strong technical skills in mainframe technologies and good organizational and people skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Conputer Engineering

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take up programming lessons while in school and be very familar and technically strong in atleast one language

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
project manager

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Team leader 6 58000 production support, maintence and development
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7 Forsyth tech Computer science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.8 NC State Computer science

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.