Music Educator (Female, Age 28) in Columbia, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Music Educator in Columbia, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMusic Educator
Salary$85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
LocationColumbia, MD
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Teach music in a private music school

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Teach 10 classes a week, administer the registration and promote the programs

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation leave, 1 week of sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I enjoy working with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Its in a small building. No dislikes.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am
11am to 12pmGrade 1 class : Violin practical and theory
12pm to 1pmGrade 2 class : Violin practical and theory
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmGrade 3 class : Violin practical and theory
3pm to 4pmGrade 4 class : Violin practical and theory
4pm to 5pmGrade 3 class : Violin practical and theory
5pm to 6pmGrade 5 class : Violin practical and theory
6pm to 7pmGrade 6 class : Violin practical and theory
7pm to 8pmGrade 8 class : Violin practical and theory
8pm to 9pmGrade 7 class : Violin practical and theory
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. verbal interview and an audition

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
no

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. Gave me a walkthrough on how the classes would be conducted

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes. Years of training in the violin.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
yes.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Music degree

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be positive

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. i am trained in this area

What are your current career goals?
to have greater collaboration with the community.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Music educator3 years80000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9NYUB. Mus
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.