Biochemical Engineer Supervisor 

(Male, Age 19) from Valley Park, MO

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 19 who works as a Biochemical Engineer Supervisor in Valley Park, MO. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Biochemical Engineer Supervisor
Salary $80,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 45
Company Size (not answered)
Location Valley Park, MO
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a 250 people corporation where I supervise the development and process of manufacture of prosthetic limbs and tissues for humans.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work for a 250 people corporation where I supervise the development and process of manufacture of prosthetic limbs and tissues for humans.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
full dental, 3 weeks paid vacation, 401k plan, paid State Farm health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am wake up, take a shower, get dressed, and eat a hearty breakfast of cereal and orange juice.
8am to 9am leave for work and beat the daily commute.
9am to 10am start on my job of supervising others and the production of the tissues. I will keep everybody on task and make sure they are working hard. If there are any incomplete or undesired tissue products formed, I will take them out of production immediately and take them over to a different sector and ask them to find out why it didn’t get completed as planned.
10am to 11am Eat lunch, usually out with a couple of work buddies.
11am to 12pm More supervising and inspection.
12pm to 1pm More supervising and inspection.
1pm to 2pm Fixing one of the machines that could have broken down due to the fast mechanical arms moving all day.
2pm to 3pm Talk with my boss about the day and summarize how everything went and help him decide how to make things better for tomorrow and the rest of the year.
3pm to 4pm Leave work, do some errands before I get home such as get some food at Dierberg’s (I’m already out of the house) and get my car washed and gas tank filled.
4pm to 5pm Get home, eat dinner, relax.
5pm to 6pm Wash the dishes, brush my teeth, sit on the couch waiting for my TV show to start
6pm to 7pm Watch Wheel of Fortune (and get a lot of the puzzles right before they do).
7pm to 8pm Fix the squeaky cabinet door with WD-40 on a commercial break from the movie I am watching.
8pm to 9pm More movies.
9pm to 10pm Bedtime
10pm to 11pm More sleep
11pm to 12am dreaming…

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.