Global Services Capital Accountant II (Female, Age 32) in Mundelein, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Global Services Capital Accountant II in Mundelein, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGlobal Services Capital Accountant II
Salary$68,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMundelein, IL
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a major multinational technology company that produces telecommunications equipment. There are many thousands of employees in every country on the globe and you would have a tough time finding an American not familiar with the brand name.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for processing capital spending requests for certain divisions and country level operations, and ensuring that those organizations follow the rules set up by the corporate entity. I need to process and approve requests, route pending requests for approval, review capital spending requests to ensure they meet accounting standards, and testing and rolling out tools to automate the accounting process.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Health insurance, 401K, vacation time, dental and vision insurance, health club credit, discount on daycare.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I believe I am well compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a limited basis to resolve issues. I also interact with people on conference calls and video presenations. I dislike a lot of interaction so accounting suits me.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amEat breakfast, prepare son for daycare
8am to 9amDrive to work, drop off son, get to office and log in computer.
9am to 10amReview emails and voicemails from foreign countries on the other side of the world.
10am to 11amMeet with manager and team to review current problems and issues such as system problems, process problems, or internal customers not following guidelines.
11am to 12pmAttend conference calls and give demo of website based tool to internal customers.
12pm to 1pmEat group lunch with team
1pm to 2pmprocess requests from users for new capital spending accounts.
2pm to 3pmReview problem accounts and follow up with decision makers to determine fix for problems.
3pm to 4pmConference call with 2 US divisions whose requests I process to review any issues.
4pm to 5pmWrap up day making sure no critical issues remain open.
5pm to 6pmdrive home and make dinner.
6pm to 7pmrelax
7pm to 8pmwatch TV
8pm to 9pmConference call with division in Israel
9pm to 10pmSLEEP
10pm to 11pmSLEEP
11pm to 12amSLEEP

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I already worked for the company, I moved internally.

What was the application process?
I submitted an electronic application through the internal job board.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
The interview process involved interviewing with 3 different people individually. One was my first supervisor, one was a higher level accounting manager, and one was the HR person for that division. They interviewed me seperately and then compared notes.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Questions about my specific knowledge of accounting, the technical training I received at grad school, ability to work with people over the internet and phone, ability to solve problems

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No my employee did not prepare me. I basically jumped into the fire and learned by doing.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
The training for my position was very poor. Basically 5 people were in that group and 2 left the company and 3 others rotated out. We had 5 new people responsible for the job with very little to no training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes my education helped. I got my masters at a good school that was very hands on and focussed on preparing me for a corporate accounting position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship due to the fact that I was working full time for the company already.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get an accounting undergrad degree. Focus on doing well in school and then apply to major corporations, most of which have student/straight out of school programs to hire accountants. My current boss was hired straight out of school at the same time I was, but quickly progressed due to a fast tracking for high quality biz students.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
It is incredibly important to have a high attention to details, a capacity to learn specific processes, and an attitude of crossing all the T’s and dotting all the I’s. Internal customers need a lot of help so communication skills are good.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, I couldn’t do my job without a MSA Masters of the Science of Accounting.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Moving ahead in accounting is all about carefully managing the work load while being a team player and also saving the business money. Accounting is not glamourous compared to sales or product development, but it is extremely important for companies to be able to make money.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, my current employer has treated me extremely well and I wont leave this employer unless I am forced to. I have done well and have good benefits, no reason to leave.

What are your current career goals?
I want to gain more experience and move into other accounting roles within my current organization. I do not want to be a manager, I have no interest in having more responsibility so I will remain an individual contributor.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
not at this time.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Accountant3 years65000Handle and control capital accounting projects for global company including monitoring of approval process, submission of completed applications, and development of procedures.
Prior Job 2administrative4 years38000Handle admin duties for a team of engineers including arranging travel, translating documents, submitting expense reports, and preparing documents.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6Ohio UniversityEconomics Bachelors
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4Roosevelt UniversityAccounting Masters

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.