Configuration Management Specialist (Female, Age 52) in Santee, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Configuration Management Specialist in Santee, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleConfiguration Management Specialist
Salary$68,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSantee, CA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Private firm specializing in Aerospace for the US government and private industry

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Management of documents routing through an electronic document system – Windchill.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, 10 vacation days, 401K, pension plan, health insurance and dental insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with others on a daily basis. My job is primarily customer service and helping users manage their documents using an automated document management software.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work over 20 miles from my home. I don’t like that.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amDrive to work
8am to 9amPrioritize e-mail traffic. Print e-mails to line up tasks for the day. Check calendar for meetings/appointments/deadlines. Listen to phone messages. Prioritize any new assignments. Meet with boss if there are any pressing issues.
9am to 10amDaily work. Return phone calls. Return e-mails. Attend to work assignments.
10am to 11amTake a short break. Check with co-workers helping you with projects. See if they need additional guidance/support.
11am to 12pmLunch
12pm to 1pmReturn phone calls/e-mails while at lunch. Check assignments for balance of day.
1pm to 2pmDaily work. Answer questions from users as they come in
2pm to 3pmContinue daily work
3pm to 4pmWrap up days work. Call anyone that is waiting on work and let them know finish times. Let anyone know if something promised won’t get done.
4pm to 5pmPrepare to go home. Answer all phone messages/e-mail. Don’t leave until all matters are resolved.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was interviewed as a potential transfer employee from another department in the company

What was the application process?
I applied online through the company HR department. I submitted an electronic application and e-mailed resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had one exploratory interview, then a formal interview with five people.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What would I bring to the position. Why I would be a good fit for the job. Describe work done in a similar job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have held this same job with this company for 2 years 10 years ago.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I received on the job training as a sub-contract employee for this division 10 years ago.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I was in the Navy and took general business courses which prepared me.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Take some engineering courses, possibly some library science courses. Try to intern and get some on the job training.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills. Must be able to decipher engineering drawings, grasp complex concepts.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Learn as much as you can from the experienced employees.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes.

What are your current career goals?
To stay at my current job until retirement.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Nope. I love my job and am lucky to have a good job in today’s economic situation

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Quality Analyst1.5 years64000Entered data into Relex FRACAS database. Created forms, queries and custom reports.
Prior Job 2Logistics Specialist1 year64000Analysis of data required to forecast spare parts requirements for military purchase of products.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6U of MdBusines Mgt
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.