Echocardiographer (Male, Age 25) in Austin, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Echocardiographer in Austin, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleEchocardiographer
Salary$65,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAustin, TX
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for HCA. Hospital corporation of America has many hospitals all over america

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
To preform an exam called an echocardiogram

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like the personal interaction

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amwake up, go to work
8am to 9amget paper work ready, asses patients data.
9am to 10amPerfor 3 echo’s
10am to 11amperform 1 ER echo
11am to 12pmPerform a TEE
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmMore echo’s
2pm to 3pmEven more echo’s
3pm to 4pmGet ready to go home, ride the clock
4pm to 5pmGo home
5pm to 6pmKiss the wife and kids
6pm to 7pmchill
7pm to 8pmDinner
8pm to 9pmDishes and laundry
9pm to 10pmput kids to bed
10pm to 11pmSleep
11pm to 12amSleep

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Paper

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I was kind of thrown in there with no computer training

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, 2 years of school

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it was all hands on stuff

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I was very helpful

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to school

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need to be a good problem solver

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Stick with it, it gets easier

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, it’s what I went to school for

What are your current career goals?
My own business

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Echo tech4 years60000Perform echo’s
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5ACCEchocardiography
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.