Photo Editor (Male, Age 30) in Brooklyn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 30 who works as a Photo Editor in Brooklyn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Photo Editor
Salary $62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Brooklyn, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Photo- warehouse that several major publications come to for use. Approx 150 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
contact photographers/agents/magazines, choose appropriate photos

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical dental-100% coverage

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes- I enjoy contact with several types of people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
office- open floor layout – I would prefer my own private office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am NA
8am to 9am NA
9am to 10am Checked emails and voicemail. Checked my calendar for my day. Not a heavy day today. photo shoot this afternoon
10am to 11am Met with team about this weeks projects. Reviewed current projects, a new client- discussed their needs and developed a strategy for the client.
11am to 12pm continuation of meeting
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Photoshoot uptown- met with photographer/talent.I met with client for the shoot, reviewed the concept, ensured that all were taken care of.
2pm to 3pm Photoshoot
3pm to 4pm Back to office- Checked/returned phonecalls and emails. Wrote a report. Added some notes to clients file from todays shoot. Met with a subordinate about her current photo project.
4pm to 5pm Left for the day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral-networking

What was the application process?
resume/interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes- 3 interviews, multi-levels- individual interviews

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Experience/goals/Accomplishments….how will i help the team….etc

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
very well

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
got training in college of communications got on the job experience(best learning tool)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes- developed my writing and communicative skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
definitely- it was a stepping stone to my career and introduced me to the players

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
send out lots of resumes Get an Internship, and work your way up!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
people person, organized, artistic, creative

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
pay your dues, do your best on specific jobs/assignment and take credit for your accomplishments

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes

What are your current career goals?
continue to top of a publishing firm

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 asstitan photo editor 3 40
Prior Job 2 project manager 2 30

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Northeastern U Communications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.