Chef (Male, Age 41) in Valencia, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Chef in Valencia, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Chef
Salary $60,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Valencia, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in restaurants as a chef

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I cook for my customers!

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks of vacation, Medicare

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
WELL!

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
No, I love my job.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Restaurants and my office at home!

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 1
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Get to work!
8am to 9am Prep for the day.
9am to 10am The restaurant opens for breakfast.
10am to 11am Lunch crowd piles in.
11am to 12pm Busiest part of work piles in!
12pm to 1pm Take break.
1pm to 2pm Get back on duty.
2pm to 3pm Busy from getting out dishes!
3pm to 4pm Slowly the dinner crowds come in.
4pm to 5pm Serving people here and there.
5pm to 6pm Slows down!
6pm to 7pm Dinner crowd rushes in for food.
7pm to 8pm Super busy!
8pm to 9pm Slows down.
9pm to 10pm Shut things down.
10pm to 11pm Restaurant closes for the day.
11pm to 12am Go to bed.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, i interview, manager, no, yes

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Are you experienced? Have you worked at any other restaurants?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, he led me step by step through everything! It was worth it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, I had classes 2 times a day!

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because if I didn’t have an education I wouldn’t be here in this job right now!

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Everything from chemistry to mental skills!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Mental skills!

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no, just be yourself!

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Do the best that you can no matter what anyone else thinks!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I have always dreamed of this!

What are your current career goals?
To be the best of the best!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No that is all!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 n/a n/a n/a n/a
Prior Job 2 n/a n/a n/a n/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:N/A

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
5 Stanford Culinary
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4.9 San Diego Math

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.