Staff Engineer (Female, Age 27) in North Prairie, WI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Staff Engineer in North Prairie, WI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Staff Engineer
Salary $55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location North Prairie, WI
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Worldwide engineering firm that specializes in civil and environmental work.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Design work and project management.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
17 days vacation, 5 options for health insurance, flex time, 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like it because there are reviewers and mentors. As an engineer, things must be done correctly to work.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
college career placement service

What was the application process?
electronic resume, lunch interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Lunch interview with a higher level engineer and a scientist at a family restaurant.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Mostly the typical plus some ethical questions like what you would do if you knew your supervisor was doing something wrong or what don’t you like in a boss. Also asked what I knew about the company.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was assigned a buddy to ask questions, and a mentor.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, one day of training on the office itself, intranet, and company. Then 40 hours haz waste training through OSHA. From there, the training was done by mentoring.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I was prepared from the engineering aspect, but not the business aspect of a consulting firm.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, gave me an idea of what consulting is.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to college. The market for environmental work is great.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Technical skills for design work, communication skills for working with clients, organization skills to deliver work timely and efficiently.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes – college

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Find someone to follow or interview to make sure it is what you want to do. An engineering degree is hard work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I went to school for environmental engineering and I do remediation work.

What are your current career goals?
Decide to have kids and be a stay at home mom or grow my career as an engineer and get my PE license.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Such a variety of work from hazardous waste remediation to design work to greenhouse gas work to green buildings, we do it all.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Intern 1 year $10/hr Supported engineer staff with various activities like updating and writing reports, updating maps, etc.
Prior Job 2 Office Mgr 5 years varied up to $10/hr Office assistance at a private swimming school.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 UW-Milwaukee Civil Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.