(Female, Age 32) from Bentonville, AR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Analyst in Bentonville, AR. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Analyst
Salary $53,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 43
Company Size (not answered)
Location Bentonville, AR
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
40 employees, we mfr goods overseas (China) and sell them to retailers such as Wal-mart, Sam’s Club, Target, Costco, Atwoods. Etc.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Analyze sales numbers, run sales reports, invoicing, run retailers host programs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 wks vacation,

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with the logistic team and sales team. The benefit of working for a small company is that you get along so great with your co workers. We are like a big family.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a small office building. I like it, my cubicle is spacious.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Catching up on nightly emails. From overseas factory, one of our retailers, etc
8am to 9am Run my daily sales numbers for all of our major retailers for our supervisors.
9am to 10am Invoice all of our shipments from the previous day. match up warehouse tracker with the orders actually place to insure correct numbers are invoiced.
10am to 11am Look at Walmart’s host system, checking to make sure store counts are still correct, checking on replenishment numbers to make sure all forecasts are correct
11am to 12pm Lunch
12pm to 1pm Afternoon meetings with warehouses to make sure all things are good. Example – shipping , routing, any issues are talked about on these calls
1pm to 2pm Following up on any unanswered emails from retailers, or overseas, etc.
2pm to 3pm Helping logistic team with any problems. Container qty’s, reports, etc
3pm to 4pm Any data updats. example, updating our item maintenance spreadsheets, setting up retailer items, submitting samples to retailers testing labs, following up on any buyer / replenishment issues
4pm to 5pm Finishing up any work to be done that day. Working with sourcing team to finalize emails to China or freight forwarding company
5pm to 6pm Off work at 5
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?
Submitted resume,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No. Luckily my boss is a very good friend of my dad. I worked for another walmart retailer for 8 years so he gave me the position after a little meet and greet.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Retailers such as Wal-mart and K-mart have there own on site meetings or webinars. When something applies to my area I go to the meetings or attend special webinars.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I didnt attend college, so I feel lucky to be where Im at

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have experience with the retail world. Have good microsoft skills. I work daily in access and excel. My knowledge of Wal-marts host program (Retail Link) also helped me get this position.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
microsoft, 10 key, access,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
If you have a business degree / lots of walmart experience you will make more money

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Prioritize your workload, know that there is always something that will come up that will take priority over what your currently working on. Lots of daily fires to put out, be patient. Always ask questions if you dont know what your looking at ex. sales number, data.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. Im hoping to expand my knowledge of the retail world. My goal is to work for a major supplier like Coke, Sony.

What are your current career goals?
To learn as much as I can and go on to work for a major name brand product.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Customer Service 8 years 28000 I worked in Customer service for 5 years, placing telephone orders, and doing data entry. I then advanced to a position on the walmart team. Place overseas production orders, ran sales numbers, worked with walmart buyers and replenishment daily
Prior Job 2 Analyst 3 years 52000 Invoicing, walmart retail link, monday sales reports, Consumer testing for all walmart products, attend meetings or webinars as it applies to our company, Data Sync (setting up supplier items)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.