Graduate Engineer (Female, Age 23) in Irving, TX

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Graduate Engineer in Irving, TX. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleGraduate Engineer
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationIrving, TX
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Civil Engineering firm, owned by parent corporation AECOM.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible of the design of commercial and residential developments

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical dnetal 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, I love working with people and clients. I like to have human interaction it keeps things interesting.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work. Check email. Worked on exhibit for client.
8am to 9amContinued working of exhibit for client. Spoke with surveyor to find information on recorded plats for a piece of property.
9am to 10amprinted exhibits and gathered information for meeting. Spent a few mins making sure that CAD techs had work for the rest of day.
10am to 11amTravel to Meeting with client
11am to 12pmMeeting with client. Cleared up issues on property. Also met with lawyer to clear up issues with property.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmtravel to city to submit documents.
2pm to 3pmSubmitted documents to city for review. Met with director of Public Works to clarify where he wanted a road to be located.
3pm to 4pmStill in meeting with public works director.
4pm to 5pmTravel back to office and then home for the day.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
School job fair

What was the application process?
Job Fair Interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I met with 6 diffrent people in office and was interviewed by all of them.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can not remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they are always teaching me new things that make me a better employee.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just School

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, It is a must!

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Get a degree in civil. engineering and you should have no problem finding a job. WE have a major shortage of engineers!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, mus be able to talk to clients and regulatory agencies. Must have strong math skills, be able to calculate grading, pipe flow ect.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, a degree and several years of experiance

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work hard, play harder, dont let the stress get to you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan to progress in this company.

What are your current career goals?
I want to have my PE License in the next 2 years and become a project manager.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
no thanks

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Graduate Engineer3 years53000Engineer in Training, Commercial and Residential Development design.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Texas TechCivil Engineering
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.