Pack Down Associate (Male, Age 31) in Vancouver, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Pack Down Associate in Vancouver, WA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePack Down Associate
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationVancouver, WA
Years Experience3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Home Depot and am employed at the Jantzen Beach store in Portland Oregon. It is a home improvment and hardware store including a Garden supply and flowers/trees/shrubs supplier as well. My store currently has a little more than 150 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I pack down overheads and work to keep the shelves full and maintenance. I help customers, answer phones and also help other co workers as well

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have dental insurance through Metlife and 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel that I am well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does. I very much enjoy helping others and interacting with them

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I like that my home store is so close to my location of residence. It is convenient and also more convenient having stores nearby such as Safeway and Target in case I need to pick up a few things for my family on the way home

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 4
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amAfter starting at 4am I have already gone through my isles, prepared them for pack down and have already moved items from the top shelves and rotated them, adding in new ones from shipping in back. I check the database to see how the outs of stocks and label changes and how they are doing in the store and after that I move to the most important task and attend to it.
8am to 9amAt this time I am still doing pack down and rotation with the database.
9am to 10amI rally up the rest of my crew to clean up our areas and our store opens at ten so we have a small amount of time to do this so we have to work fast and I am there to make sure they do this efficiantly and on task.
10am to 11amBy this time, I am helping customers while finishing up with my crew, than at 10 we all clock out and head home
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I worked for another location and had a history with Home Depot. When I applied for this position I got an interview quickly due to my good work history with the company

What was the application process?
I submitted my application, online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I was interviewed. It was with just one person and I had just the one interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cannot remember what quiestions I was asked.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. They were very thourough and answered all the questions I had during training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was some after working in the store for a while such as forklift training, other equipment training, cash register re-training (to refresh my mind)

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they understand how hard the manual labor is. Not many people can do what I and my team do in 8 hours and actually want to come back the next day. I would tell them that sometimes it is a thankless jon, but VERY rewarding. I would tell them that they would need to talk to my supervisor and show them that they can meet the standards of this position.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They should have people skills, a good sense of doing their job without being told, that they need excellent organization skills, good social skills and good physical health to get the jobs done quickly that are assigned

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A GED would be sufficient enough for my job position

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Don’t give up. No matter how tough things can get always put your best foot forward and work hard.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
YEs it is. Any job that can give me security for my family in case I pass away is a wonderful thing and gives me a sense of accomplishment.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to gain more hours since I have been trying to get more for 2 years now and to be given a ASM position.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Treader6 monthes10I tool old tires that needed tread and applied it with the machine I worked with
Prior Job 2Unarmed Security6 monthes9I was a security gaurd for a company based in portland Oregon.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.