(Male, Age 46) from bronx, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 46 who works as a Accountant in bronx, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Accountant
Salary $50,100
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 60
Company Size (not answered)
Location bronx, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large Transportation company that has over 50,000 employees in NY

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
general accounting functions such as account anlaysis, bank reconciliations, cash management, accounts receivable and payables.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical and dental and eyecare

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with both internal employees and employees from other divisions. I love working with them all. They are like a family.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
work with all facets in the organization

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am leave for work at 8 am
8am to 9am arrive at work at 9 am. turn on pc and read mail and did a to-do list for the day. Prepared a detailed list of what I needed to do. Work needed to do was bank reconcilations, a meeting with another department, a meeting with Accounts Payable and pulling of bank check copies. Also needed to call bank for needed bank copies.
9am to 10am attended a meeting on the monthly close and the status of bank reconciliations and analysis this meeting lasted 2 hours from 9:30 to 11:30. This meeting was very boring and could have been shorter. All work is current but auditors need factual proof that this was the case. Bank recs were printed and submitted to them in a hard copy form.
10am to 11am discussed in meeting (noted above) the missing reconciliations and the banks that were contacted to get required info. to complete the work.
11am to 12pm meeting ends at 11:30… go back to desk and pull copies of needed checks for accounts payable personnel. Did this for 1/2 hour
12pm to 1pm left for lunch at 12 and came back at 1
1pm to 2pm worked on running reports for bank reconcilations. Worked together with another staff accountant to finish work on bank recs. Also had a special project request for an account analyis that i worked on for 1 hour until 3:30PM
2pm to 3pm worked on account analysis request until 3:30. then went back to bank recs with other staff accountant
3pm to 4pm met with accounts payable to go over old outstanding checks this took approx. 45 minutes to complete
4pm to 5pm read rest of my emails received and worked on some more check request info. from the emails. Left at 5:00
5pm to 6pm left for train and went home
6pm to 7pm arrive home at 6:30 and watch some tv
7pm to 8pm ate dinner at 8
8pm to 9pm watch some more tv and went to sleep at 9:pm
9pm to 10pm sleep
10pm to 11pm sleep
11pm to 12am sleep

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
through a friend that worked for the organization

What was the application process?
submitted resume, went for several interviews and then was offered position after 2 mos.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
interviewed with HR and then the director of the dept. I would be working for. After that I was interviewed by comptroller

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why are you leaving old job? Did you like your past jobs? Do you get along with people? Can you handle stress? Why do you want this job?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
no. The job was not described as it presently is.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
absolutely no training – it was hit the ground running. You had to make it on your own. The only training I received was for the software that was used

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely… without it I would be failing

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they would need to fill out an application with the HR department and call to see if there are any new openings which are listed weekly.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
a BBA in Accounting along with people skills and excellent computer skills such as Excel and Internet and Lotus

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes must have a college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
you really must like stress and pressure during month end and year end close cycles

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes want to be there the next 30 years

What are your current career goals?
to make it to middle management and continue my education for further growth

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Accountant 3 years 50100 all general acctg. related dutites for account analysis and cash management
Prior Job 2 Accountant 3 years 48100 all general acctg. related dutites for account analysis and cash management

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.3 Iona BBA Accounting
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.