Physician (Male, Age 35) in woodside, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 35 who works as a Physician in woodside, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Physician
Salary $50,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 80
Company Size (not answered)
Location woodside, NY
Years Experience 3 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
hopital large

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
see patients, treat disease

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes, like it a lot

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
hospital, like working with people

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am sleep
8am to 9am sleep
9am to 10am sleep
10am to 11am sleep
11am to 12pm sleep
12pm to 1pm sleep
1pm to 2pm sleep
2pm to 3pm study
3pm to 4pm study
4pm to 5pm commute
5pm to 6pm study
6pm to 7pm round on patients in hospital
7pm to 8pm daily notes, handle admissions
8pm to 9pm handle admissions, take care of emergencies
9pm to 10pm handle admissions, take care of emergencies
10pm to 11pm handle admissions, take care of emergencies
11pm to 12am handle admissions, take care of emergencies

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
read a book

What was the application process?
passed mcat, good gpa

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes – interviewed by doctors in a group

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what is your motivation for wanting the job

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
medical school, residency

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
study hard, be willing to sacrifice

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
enjoy studying, be detailed, like people

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, md degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure that you are in it for the right reasons

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
will be a pediatric cardiologist

What are your current career goals?
own my own practice, consult, and teach

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
can’t imagine doing anything else

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 resident 3 years 53k pediatric resident
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:85

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5 buffalo political science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3 downstate md

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.